We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Taieri Gorge Railway
Save
  
Ways to Experience Taieri Gorge Railway
from US$51.96
More Info
from US$148.35
More Info
from US$1,717.52
More Info
Reviews (2,070)
Filter reviews
2,070 results
Traveller rating
1,262
565
179
40
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,262
565
179
40
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews buffet car train trip great trip train manager great scenery dunedin station hour trip return journey interesting commentary cruise ship take photos recommend this trip taieri gorge viewing platform new zealand visiting dunedin port chalmers
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
228 - 233 of 2,070 reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2019 via mobile

This amazing historic railway tour was a fantastic experience. Being taken into the mountains from Dunedin, on a surprisingly comfortable older train, with commentary throughout, crossing old wood and iron bridges, and seeing the most amazing scenery, made for a day to remember. This was enhanced by the opportunity to take photos from an open viewing carriage as we went.
We were given local beers and wines, as well as soft drinks, as we went, and a lovely picnic lunch on board.
The local craft market and information area at the top ensured that this journey was as enjoyable as it could possibly be.
A fantastic experience and one I would recommend to all.

Thank Suzanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DunedinRailways, Manager at Taieri Gorge Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2019

Hi Suzanne,

Thanks for taking time to provide feedback.

We are glad you had a fantastic experience with us and you were able to see the most amazing scenery.

For us it is just great to here that you would recommend to all. That is the best feedback we can get.

We hope to see you again one day soon.

Cheers

Chris Snow
Dunedin Railways

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2019

It was less than half the price of the ship excursion. We were met promptly at the cruise terminal, and were taken directly to the train station, which is an attraction in itself.
The train ride is amazing. We used the same company in Tauranga, for their Te Puia Geothermal, Culture and Kiwi Discovery Tour, and had the same great service. Got back to the ship in plenty of time, and if the ship cannot make port, a full refund will follow. We prefer the private tours to the ship’s when possible, not only because of the cost, but the groups are always smaller , so “hurry up and wait” is pretty much elimated. Do not hesitate to book with this tour company.

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank jan23012018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DunedinRailways, Manager at Taieri Gorge Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2019

Hi There,

Thanks for taking time to write a review.

We are glad you thought the train ride was amazing and that your experience with Back to nature was a good one.

Hopefully we may see you again one day soon.

Cheers

Chris Snow
Dunedin Railways

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2019 via mobile

After riding the Otago Rail Trail, we stepped aboard the grand old carriages of the Taieri Gorge Railway train for an amazing trip back to Dunedin. The seats were comfortable, the windows were clear for excellent viewing of the dramatic scenery. Loved every minute.

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DunedinRailways, Manager at Taieri Gorge Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2019

Hi Wendy,

Thanks for taking time to write a review.

We are glad you enjoyed your journey with us and loved every minute. It is a nice way to finish your time on the Otago Central Rail Trail.

Hopefully we might see you again one day soon.

Cheers

Chris Snow
Dunedin Railways

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2019

A trip that we will never forget historic carriages first class commentary great service good food amazing views, The engineers who designed and built this over a century ago were real pioneers

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank Carl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DunedinRailways, Manager at Taieri Gorge Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2019

Hi Carl,

Thanks for taking time to provide feedback.

We are glad you had a wonderful experience with first class commentary. You are right, the engineers who designed and built the track through the gorge did an amazing job.

We hope to see you again soon one day and you might be able to enjoy the Seasider our Coastal train journey.

Cheers

Chris Snow
Dunedin Railways

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2019 via mobile

Had a very hot day for this trip- mixture of old and new carriages. The new carriages had aircon but little access to outside for viewing platforms....older carriages had the viewing platforms at either end but no aircon, just windows that opened.

Had a points failure as we left Dunedin so were nearly an hour before we got going.

Views spectacular all the way - suggest sitting on the left hand side if possible left although the latter stages have all the views on the right! If doing the return trip then the train doesn't turn around so you'll get the same views if busy. On our trip a large number of people got off at the halfway point (cruise ship passengers) so we had loads of space to move around (old and new carriages) on the return trip.

Long trip- we booked in at 2pm and didn't return until gone 8pm - refreshments available on train but cash only....tasty though!

Good commentary by staff and all very friendly.

Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DunedinRailways, Manager at Taieri Gorge Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2019

Hi Mark,

Thanks for taking time to write a review.

We are glad that you thought it was a spectacular journey with good commentary and friendly staff. The team do a wonderful job.

We hope to see you again one day soon.

Cheers

Chris Snow
Dunedin Railways

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews