We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
  
Ways to Experience Penguin Place
from US$149.52
More Info
from US$149.52
More Info
from US$153.36
More Info
from US$178.70
More Info
Reviews (938)
Filter reviews
938 results
Traveller rating
625
198
61
26
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
625
198
61
26
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews penguin hospital yellow eyed penguins the reserve hospital area rehab center rare penguins nesting boxes endangered species conservation project worthy cause their natural habitat their efforts money goes otago peninsula penguins coming informative talk coming ashore
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 938 reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2021

Ainsley was a wonderful and informative tour guide and is clearly incredibly passionate about what she does. We were told there was a slight chance we wouldn't see penguins, but were lucky enough to see five or six of them! Absolutely thrilled with the experience and definitely recommend.

Date of experience: August 2020
1  Thank EinnaraExplores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2021

Ainslie our tour guide was what made this tour really special. Her genuine, heartfelt love of nature was really touching. We didn't happen to see penguins in the wild the day we went but it didn't matter. We had an absolutely magic moment of watching seal pups play in the waves. The situation for yellow eyed penguins is heartbreaking. The money spent visiting Penguin Place goes to looking after hungry and injured penguins. Well worth a visit.

Date of experience: February 2021
1  Thank katemR8047NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2021

Penguin Place is a must. They do a fantastic job, and provide a unique opportunity to get close to the endangered yellow-eyed penguins. Jason was our friendly and very knowledgeable guide and gave us a informative and interesting tour of their penguin hospital - about 40 of them? We were also lucky enough to see one yellow eyed penguin in the wild, and one Hooker's sea lion and cub in search of adventure. These guys are fully funded by visitors, so help them out, do the tour, see loads of penguins, learn a lot, leave a donation, and save a species. Thanks, Maurice and Karen

Date of experience: January 2021
1  Thank MW_10001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2021

Penguin Place is a conservation reserve dedicated to helping the endangered species especially Yellow-eyed penguins.

Date of experience: February 2020
1  Thank Naina-Damani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2021

Wonderful, dropped by as part of Monarch tour and was great. Doing amazing work for the yellow eyed penguins, super special to see a new rescued chick arrive. Definitely recommend.

Date of experience: January 2021
Thank sara_fearon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa K, Front Office Manager at Penguin Place, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2021

Thank you for taking the time to visit and support our project here at Penguin Place. We are so glad you enjoyed it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews