We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
  
Ways to Experience Penguin Place
from US$127.23
More Info
from US$120.35
More Info
from US$136.85
More Info
from US$515.78
More Info
Reviews (811)
Filter reviews
811 results
Traveller rating
535
173
55
24
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
535
173
55
24
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews penguin hospital yellow eyed penguins the reserve nesting boxes rare penguins endangered species hospital area conservation project introductory talk their natural habitat worthy cause penguin chicks otago peninsula penguins coming money goes eggs minute tour
Filter
Updating list...
371 - 376 of 811 reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2015

This preserve shows the life of the endangered Yellow-Eyed Penguin, endemic to NZ. The guides are passionate and knowledgeable. Half of the tour is of a hospital faciity where dozens of birds are cared for.

The second half is a tour of the rookery, where you will see lots of penguins, more or less in the wild. Very informative and enjoyable, and your tickets helps the work of the facility.

You will have a nice walk, and probably see some seals, too.

Date of experience: February 2015
Thank Georgemia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2015

Being able to get up close to the penguins, and see how they live. The guide was very good and knowledgeable. They do a great job of looking after the sick and injured in their penguin hospital.

Date of experience: February 2015
Thank Ngaire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
penguinplace, Guest Relations Manager at Penguin Place, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2015

Glad you also found the penguins "intriguing" we are continually fascinated by them and love to discover or witness new things!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2015

We had stumbled on this place 20 years ago when we were last in Dunedin. We definitely wanted to return. First I was impressed with the progress that has been made at restoring the habitat. Also we walked through far fewer trenches this time around. Our guide was very knowledgeable and helpful at locating the Penguins that were there and making sure every person had an opportunity to see and take pix. Unfortunately the birds are going through moult and there were none returning from fishing in the late afternoon. But we had been advised of that when we made a few inquiries about what time would be best chance to see them returning. They are wild animals and do what they do when they want so one never is sure what one will or will not see. I would definitely come back for a third time.

Date of experience: March 2015
Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
penguinplace, Guest Relations Manager at Penguin Place, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2015

Looking forward to guiding you through the reserve a third time! (feel free to come before another 20years ticks over however!) Our guides do a great job of catering for the whole group and allowing time for photography, and ensuring penguins are not frightened of disturbed. The penguins well-being does come first and we ensure we get our groups through the reserve in a way that will not hinder the wildlife.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2015

Our vacation that is. The one thing my wife wanted more than anything else was to see seals and penguins in the wild. Although this is a privately run reserve, the penguins come and go as they will, so when we got lucky enought to see one return up the beach and head to the sand dunes, I got huge points. The tour was informative and they really care for these special birds. Take time to go to the Albatros center just up the road to see seals on the rocks.

Date of experience: March 2015
Thank RovingBel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
penguinplace, Guest Relations Manager at Penguin Place, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2015

Good to know we saved your holiday! (and many others too) We are constantly informed that people have tried and tried to see Yellow Eyed Penguins, but with no luck. Because we are entering the breeding grounds and territories we are able to guarantee viewing. Our unique trenches enable us to see the penguins at all stages of their annual cycle without being a disturbance to them. The project is also self-funded, so relies 100% on the support of visitors - thanks for coming :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2015

We were lucky to see the rare yellow eyed penguins, there were some in the "recovery" pens and others on the hillside. There are stunning views, but it is a very steep climb from where the minibus drops you to the hill top.

Date of experience: February 2015
1  Thank doreen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
penguinplace, Guest Relations Manager at Penguin Place, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2015

Very Hill?! - love it. Indeed, as it is a nature experience and we are entering the nantural breeding grounds of a very determined penguin we do have to encounter some hills, and walking is involved. The set-up has not been manipulated and we are simply visiting the breeding site of this unusual penguin. There will be about 900metres of walking involved and a stairwell (90 odd stairs) - You will be on your feet for about 1 hour and there will be a lot of stopping and starting (not constant walking)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews