We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Butterflies ”
Review of Otago Museum

Otago Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$10.67*
and up
Otago Museum Stories of the South Guided Tour
Ranked #3 of 106 things to do in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Butterflies ”
Reviewed 15 March 2017 via mobile

I spent a rainy afternoon in Dunedin in the Butterfly room in the Museum. Cold outside very warm in their home. These beautiful insects just fluttering past you in their domain. The lovely orchids in the room were worth seeing and the lovely little birds scurrying about. A must if you have children

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank Michelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OtagoMuseumTeam, Marketing Assistant at Otago Museum, responded to this review, 16 March 2017
Thanks for your review. We're so pleased to hear you enjoyed the Tropical Forest on a cold Dunedin day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

811 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    587
    202
    20
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“So very interesting”
Reviewed 14 March 2017

Have returned several times during our vacation in Otago. Such an interesting place and so much to see. Great gift shop and restaurant etc etc.
Definitely recommend this visit for all age groups.

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank Maturegent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OtagoMuseumTeam, Marketing Assistant at Otago Museum, responded to this review, 16 March 2017
Thanks for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
830 reviews
574 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Great museum, even if you dont visit the special exhibitions”
Reviewed 13 March 2017

We visited only the free rooms. And it is very informative, very interesting. We visited many museums in NZ, both North and South Island, and we can see in Otago Museum new things, other explications about Maori. Also the rooms about the Polyneiean, Melanesian and Micronesian peoples are very good. The 2nd and 3th floor with information about geology, wildlife, and other, are well worth a visit.
Only 10 minutes walking, or 15' slentering from the octogon

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank LouenStephan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OtagoMuseumTeam, Marketing Assistant at Otago Museum, responded to this review, 14 March 2017
Thanks for your review. We're so glad to hear you enjoyed your time here at the Otago Museum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashburton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
112 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Go see the butterfly's.”
Reviewed 13 March 2017

This is another great example of a later day museum. I went specifically to see the butterfly display. For a small entrance fee, one is given a wrist band, and follows the butterfly trail to a great display of flora, and butterflies.
There are other displays to see, which are worth while, along with a cafe, and a good shop, selling a good range of items, that had a scientific flavour.
Certainly viist there again.

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank 62Peter1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OtagoMuseumTeam, Marketing Assistant at Otago Museum, responded to this review, 14 March 2017
Thanks for your review. We're so pleased to hear you enjoyed your time here, especially in the Tropical Forest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Marvelous Museum”
Reviewed 13 March 2017

We spent part of our shore excursion at this wonderful museum. We only wish we had more time. The displays were beautiful and informative; pictures were permitted and we really enjoyed our time here. Only drawback - no museum book which would have been helpful in order to get more information when we had more time later.

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
Thank swifs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OtagoMuseumTeam, Marketing Assistant at Otago Museum, responded to this review, 14 March 2017
Thanks for your review :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Otago Museum also viewed

 

Been to Otago Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing