We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great museum, even if you dont visit the special exhibitions”
Review of Otago Museum

Otago Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$11.18*
and up
Otago Museum Stories of the South Guided Tour
More Info
US$223.53*
and up
Personalized Tour of Dunedin
More Info
US$33.53*
and up
Dunedin Cruise Ships Shore Excursions
Ranked #3 of 110 things to do in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed 13 March 2017

We visited only the free rooms. And it is very informative, very interesting. We visited many museums in NZ, both North and South Island, and we can see in Otago Museum new things, other explications about Maori. Also the rooms about the Polyneiean, Melanesian and Micronesian peoples are very good. The 2nd and 3th floor with information about geology, wildlife, and other, are well worth a visit.
Only 10 minutes walking, or 15' slentering from the octogon

Thank LouenStephan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OtagoMuseumTeam, Marketing Assistant at Otago Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2017

Thanks for your review. We're so glad to hear you enjoyed your time here at the Otago Museum.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (848)
There are newer reviews for Otago Museum
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

70 - 74 of 848 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2017

This is another great example of a later day museum. I went specifically to see the butterfly display. For a small entrance fee, one is given a wrist band, and follows the butterfly trail to a great display of flora, and butterflies.
There are other displays to see, which are worth while, along with a cafe, and a good shop, selling a good range of items, that had a scientific flavour.
Certainly viist there again.

Thank 62Peter1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OtagoMuseumTeam, Marketing Assistant at Otago Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2017

Thanks for your review. We're so pleased to hear you enjoyed your time here, especially in the Tropical Forest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2017

We spent part of our shore excursion at this wonderful museum. We only wish we had more time. The displays were beautiful and informative; pictures were permitted and we really enjoyed our time here. Only drawback - no museum book which would have been helpful in order to get more information when we had more time later.

Thank swifs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OtagoMuseumTeam, Marketing Assistant at Otago Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2017

Thanks for your review :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2017

Adults will be in awe of every display and the kids will experience the 'wow factor' here. It is brilliantly laid out and you can get so close to every display. Interaction is fun and the learning is simple but profound. Take your kids grandchildren to see the butterflies. They will never forget it.

Thank TwoTravellers34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OtagoMuseumTeam, Marketing Assistant at Otago Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2017

Thanks for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2017

Another great place to spend a long time at. So much to see and be fascinated with. Wonderful displays, well set out, and the interactive ones were a hit with the grand children. So much knowledge to be gained of so many different subjects, really good place to spend a rainy day for young ones, lots to keep them occupied.

Thank Denise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OtagoMuseumTeam, Marketing Assistant at Otago Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2017

Thanks for your review. We're so pleased to hear you enjoyed your time here at the Otago Museum :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Otago Museum also viewed

 

Been to Otago Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing