We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$189
Fully refundable before Fri, 7 Jun
Breakfast included
No prepayment needed
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Algotels
$154
Breakfast included
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
jmoorebs66

Some Pro's Some Con's.

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 28 Jan 2024
Good location, comfy beds, great range of Sky TV channels. Interior and exterior is a bit dated and I'm sure it was great in the 70's / 80's. Returned to our room having been away for 12 hours to find one bed was not made and the door leading out to the balcony left wide open, advised the front desk staff but not sure if they were too fazed by the concern. Had continental breakfast on the Sunday morning and it was good. Normally travel to Dunedin 4 times a year, undecided if I will stay again.
Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Official Hotel
$199
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $178
  • Expedia.com
0.3 km from Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $225
  • Priceline
1.0 km from Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $187
  • Expedia.com
1.2 km from Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $175
  • Hotels.com
0.5 km from Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
Free Wifi
Free parking
Lounge/Dining/Kitchen Space
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $190
  • Hotels.com
0.5 km from Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
Free Wifi
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $176
  • Hotels.com
1.3 km from Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $176
  • Hotels.com
1.1 km from Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $211
  • Hotels.com
0.7 km from Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Dunedin
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $160
  • Hotels.com
0.5 km from Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
Free Wifi
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $194
  • Priceline
1.6 km from Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Dunedin
Reviews (553)
Filter reviews
553 results
Traveller rating
85
234
165
50
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
85
234
165
50
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews one night steep hill would stay again central location walking distance car parking octagon balcony laundry
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 553 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2024

We needed somewhere to stay for one night before flying out next morning so picked Kingsgate for its location to restaurants and bars in the central city.

Check in was quick and easy with the staff being very friendly.

Room was clean and tidy upon arrival and the bedroom was separate to lounge area and bathroom. Lounge and bedroom has sliding doors out to a small balcony. Room 506 was top floor with northern views out across city to Mount Cargill.

Very quiet rooms.

Breakfast next morning in the restaurant was filling.

All in all a great experience.

There is very limited parking on site. First in - best dressed.

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank UHStu
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 December 2023

Expect to be disappointed when staying here. Seems like this place was a nice location back in the 70s. Room isnt serviced. However unfirtunately its now outdated and dirty. Lots of black mould in bathroom, shower doesnt work properly. I emailed the manager to let them know ow and they care so little about service they couldn't bother responding. Internet doesnt work properly. It's a good location which is nice. The free breakfast was nice. However the rest was poor.

Room tip: Parking is very tight, steep hill so unless your fit may not be the best.
Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Olivia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 December 2023 via mobile

Customer service from front desk and breakfast was average. The room was dissapointing. Old,worn and not well maintained. However, very clean. Great job housekeeping. The room did not supply a toilet brush. And most dissapointing there was no hot chocolate in the room or at breakfast. The view from the room balcony over town was okay. Very close proximity to the centre of town. Parking avaliable but difficult for large vehicles.

Room tip: Off street parking is avaliable however can be diffucult to enter and exit for bigger vehicles
Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Sashakvss
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 October 2023

Great location but that's where it ends.
Both restaurants were closed except for breakfast. Booked a junior suite with a balcony expecting something above average but it wasn't. No furniture on the balcony and the hotel is dated and requires a major refurbishment.

Room tip: Restaurants are closed so check before booking.
Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ken A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 October 2023

The hotel is in a great location, just above the Octogen, however it is dated. We felt we were back in the 70's. But the bed was comfortable and the room sunny. I also think the hotel needs to move away from all the plastic! mini milks, jams, butter etc at breakfast, shampoo and conditioners as well as the soaps wrapped in plastic!

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank N3084QOkimd
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews