We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Kim D
Auckland Central, New Zealand

Time to move away from all the plastic

2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 8 Oct 2023
The hotel is in a great location, just above the Octogen, however it is dated. We felt we were back in the 70's. But the bed was comfortable and the room sunny. I also think the hotel needs to move away from all the plastic! mini milks, jams, butter etc at breakfast, shampoo and conditioners as well as the soaps wrapped in plastic!
Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
0.7 km from Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
Free Wifi
Restaurant
1.3 km from Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
Free Wifi
Free parking
Deluxe Kitchen Room
0.5 km from Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
Free Wifi
Restaurant
1.2 km from Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
Free Wifi
Free parking
0.7 km from Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior
0.6 km from Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
Free Wifi
Restaurant
0.3 km from Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
Free Wifi
Restaurant
The Hotel
0.5 km from Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Dunedin
Reviews (553)
Filter reviews
553 results
Traveller rating
86
234
165
49
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
86
234
165
49
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews one night steep hill would stay again central location walking distance car parking octagon balcony laundry
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 553 reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2023

This is my fourth stay at the Kingsgate Dunedin and it was great as always. The hotel is centrally located, just a 2 minute walk from the Octagon and an easy walk to everywhere else I needed to go. The rooms are clean, well equipped and secure and the beds are really comfortable. the staff are friendly and helpful and the continental breakfast (included in the room rate) was basic but perfect for us. They have very limited parking but it is free to park on the street overnight if you miss out, you just have to remember that street parking is metered from 9am.
Thank you Kingsgate staff, we will stay again.

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank susanw666
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 September 2023

Hotel is excellent for its location in the CBD as I was attending a conference at the Dunedin Centre across the road. Also great for shopping and proximity to restaurants and cafes.
The one bedroom was spacious and well-appointed however some of the furnishings were dated and past their best. Blackout curtains would be nice. The bed was very comfortable and cosy, ensuring a good night's sleep and there was good heating and bathroom amenities.
Such a shame there is no longer an evening restaurant on site though...

Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 August 2023

This was booked as an alternative to the motel options available in Dunedin (having experienced a wide range of these in previous stays).

We booked two rooms - one was modernised with new looking balcony with new doors and balustrades, and a new ceiling with nice lights; the other was retro with no ceiling lights, stipple ceiling, with old sliding doors and balustrades (it's apparent they are upgrading this over time). Both rooms were great for our family - beds very comfortable, bathrooms great, and overall a very clean and tidy look.

Continental breakfast was included in our bookings - we didn't think much of what we saw of the cooked breakfast offering, and what we had available was more than sufficient with ample cereal options, yoghurts, bagels, croissants, juices and coffee (so don't recommend the upgrade to a cooked breakfast).

Staff were very friendly and helpful - one of whom went out of their way to retrieve a library book we left behind in one of the rooms.

Excellent value for money - way better than any other place we've stayed in Dunedin. We will definitely look to stay here again next time.

Room tip: If they run out of croissants, ask the front desk to replenish them (they seem to ration them out to stop you eating too many!).
Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank nevrar
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 August 2023

The rooms were clean and nice, was warm when I walked in which was nice in August. The reception staff were lovely. The restaurant for Breakfast was really nice. Didn't know until I got there that the restaurant had no chef for dinner so not open, that was disappointing as that was one reason I booked there so I didn't need to go out. Parking was OK for small cars. However the walls in the rooms are so thin that I could hear everything next door from there conversations to there toilet habits.

Room tip: Take ear plugs
Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank kelly2022023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 August 2023 via mobile

I had a great stay here a really nice place, very friendly service lovely room with views out over the city very clean reasonably modern great TV with all channels and really nice breakfast. The hotel is very close to city centre just 100 meter walk away and right opposite is a boutique cinema below the town hall.

Date of stay: July 2023
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank kaahu5
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews