We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
kelly2022023
Waikato Region, New Zealand

Nice but not private enough

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 10 Aug 2023
The rooms were clean and nice, was warm when I walked in which was nice in August. The reception staff were lovely. The restaurant for Breakfast was really nice. Didn't know until I got there that the restaurant had no chef for dinner so not open, that was disappointing as that was one reason I booked there so I didn't need to go out. Parking was OK for small cars. However the walls in the rooms are so thin that I could hear everything next door from there conversations to there toilet habits.
Date of stay: July 2023
Room Tip: Take ear plugs
Trip type: Travelled on business
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$249
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $222
  • Vio.com
    $215
  • Expedia.com
    $248
0.7 km from Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Deluxe Kitchen Room
$200
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $200
  • Vio.com
    $175
  • Expedia.com
    $189
0.5 km from Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$213
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $213
  • Expedia.com
    $214
  • Hotels.com
    $213
1.3 km from Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
Free Wifi
Free parking
$178
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $159
  • Agoda.com
    $155
  • Expedia.com
    $161
1.2 km from Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
Free Wifi
Free parking
$225
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $238
  • Vio.com
    $183
  • Priceline
    $210
0.7 km from Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$189
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Official Hotel
    $189
  • Agoda.com
    $160
  • Priceline
    $189
0.3 km from Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$164
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • Expedia.com
    $162
  • Agoda.com
    $149
  • Hotels.com
    $166
9.8 km from Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Hotel
$113
Fully refundable
No fees just great deals
  • Trip.com
    $147
  • Vio.com
    $119
  • Priceline
0.5 km from Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
$179
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $179
  • Vio.com
    $154
  • Expedia.com
    $179
0.6 km from Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$175
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $144
  • Agoda.com
    $131
  • Expedia.com
    $163
8.0 km from Kingsgate Hotel Dunedin
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Dunedin
Reviews (553)
Filter reviews
553 results
Traveller rating
86
234
165
49
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
86
234
165
49
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews one night steep hill would stay again central location walking distance car parking octagon balcony laundry
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 553 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2023 via mobile

I had a great stay here a really nice place, very friendly service lovely room with views out over the city very clean reasonably modern great TV with all channels and really nice breakfast. The hotel is very close to city centre just 100 meter walk away and right opposite is a boutique cinema below the town hall.

Date of stay: July 2023
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank kaahu5
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 August 2023 via mobile

Location! This was only our 2nd visit to Dunedin - both times to watch the All Blacks. Last time we were out of the main city centre. This time was so much better being right in the heart.
We were able to walk everywhere. So convenient.
We were here for 2 nights and on the first floor. Views across the town centre.
Room was spacious enough with two Queen beds - beds are oh so comfy. We found the room temperature perfect but there is also a wall heater if you need a little more warmth. Shower is over the bath but that was ok for us. Plenty of hot water and good pressure.
We didn’t buy breakfast with our room but it might be worth considering cos it did take us a long time to find a cafe to seat us for breakfast - it was a very busy weekend with the rugby. And tho it’s central there didn’t seem to be that many breakfast offerings that aren’t bars.
Nice staff and clean rooms. Would definitely hope to stay here again next time we’re in Dunedin.

Room tip: If you’re only in town for a night or two skip a vehicle and shuttle to the hotel and walk- everywhere is so close
Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank KPwhanau
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 August 2023

here from Australia for Bledisloe cup, arrived to find bar closed and not opening for our stay, restaurant closed except for breakfast, management m
not concerned, excuses but no action. no shortage of drinkers. never again. shame, all the ingredients are here but no cook1

Room tip: advertised services are not available.
Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank FarAway35688903260
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 August 2023

the visit was enhanced by the reception staff namely Abigail who offered a different room with a walk-in shower when she noticed my wife was handicapped. The restaurant staff were very accommodating at the opening time of 06:30, even to filling a vacuum flask with boiling water. The room was very warm & very comfortable. The whole experience was very enjoyable. Thank you

Date of stay: July 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Emrys B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 June 2023

I stayed here for 2 nights while visiting Dunedin for work. There are no lights in the room and only lamps, and if you are a blind bat like me, it is difficult to work from your room. The internet kept dropping out so I had to hotspot from my phone. The walls are paper thin - there was a very loud person in the room next to mine who was on a call for a good 2 hours until 11pm at night meaning I had to wait for her to finish to then sleep. The location is good and so is breakfast, but that is about it.

Room tip: There are only lamps and no lights in the rooms. The walls are paper thin. The Internet keeps dropping out.
Date of stay: May 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Suoercathj888
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews