We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Trip711795
Hackensack, New Jersey

This was a truly excellent experience & we would recommend a stay here without hesitation.

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 23 Apr 2024
We received a warm welcome from Laura when we arrived and a little later she served some delicious appetizers to us and the other six guests prior to our short drive to the Castle for dinner. Our accommodation was very luxurious with beautiful views and we enjoyed a delicious breakfast before we departed in the morning. This was a truly excellent experience and we would recommend a stay here without hesitation.
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$209
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $209
9.0 km from Camp Estate at Larnach Castle
Free Wifi
Free parking
$180
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
  • Expedia.com
    $180
0.7 km from Camp Estate at Larnach Castle
Free Wifi
Free parking
$250
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
9.4 km from Camp Estate at Larnach Castle
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior
$150
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
9.0 km from Camp Estate at Larnach Castle
Free parking
Dunedin
$148
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
9.2 km from Camp Estate at Larnach Castle
Free Wifi
$143
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $143
17.7 km from Camp Estate at Larnach Castle
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $169
  • Expedia.com
    $175
9.0 km from Camp Estate at Larnach Castle
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $175
  • Official Hotel
    $189
9.5 km from Camp Estate at Larnach Castle
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $211
  • Algotels
9.7 km from Camp Estate at Larnach Castle
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $202
  • Algotels
9.8 km from Camp Estate at Larnach Castle
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Dunedin
Reviews (220)
Filter reviews
220 results
Traveller rating
183
26
9
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
183
26
9
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 220 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2024 via mobile

On a trip planned for us by Trailfinders we went from a distinctly average Ramada in Queenstown to this superb location . We arrived on a wet misty evening later than we anticipated as Trailfinders thought planning a 5 hour coach drive back to Queenstown then a 4 hour drive to Camp Estate was a good idea - it wasn’t after such a long day driving in the dark and mist high above Dunedin .
The lady on duty was superb helping 7s with our bags and pouring us a G&T . After o good nights sleep we we greeted with a wonderful freshly cooked breakfast by super staff . After our day in Dunedin we returned for canapés and dinner at Larnach Castle . camp Estate providing the transport . Breakfast again superb and staffed helped us load up the car . Our faith restored in Trailfinders we arrived at our next stop Mantra at Lake Tekapo . How wrong we were met by a disinterested manager - we are now located in a unit adjacent to State Highway 8 .
Please stay at Camp Estate it is simply wonderful

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank GeorgeM926
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 March 2024

The Camp Estate is part of the Lanarch Castle estate - quite remote, just outside of Dunedin up quite a steep hill. This is a gated accommodation with ample parking. The accommodation is spacious and clean. Our room was on the first floor - there is a lift to take the luggage up to the upper floor. Our room was quite spacious, well equipped, maintained and clean. Within the room was a fridge, iron and ironing board. Laundry cost $15 a bag. No restaurant, canapes offered but required to pay for your drink if you want one. Dinner can be booked at Larnach Castle just along the road - 4 courses with a glass of wine for $95 per person. After the meal we had a very entertaining tour of the castle. They offer the same menu each evening. Breakfast was OK. Staff very friendly and helpful.

Room tip: Quite remote and if driving, up quite a steep, windy hill.
Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank CandJDunnington
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 March 2024

Our family party of six booked all but one of the guest rooms at Camp Estate for the first destination of our stay in New Zealand. GREAT DECISION! Laurie, Annalise and all the staff were wonderful. After an initial cocktail reception, Laurie drove us to our pre-arranged dinner at the nearby Larnach Castle, as we were jet-lagged after more than 30 hours travel from the U.S. (The Castle and the Estate are part of the same organization.) The view from most rooms was of water across the way; my wife and I faced the back, so our reward was the next morning seeing sheep in the pasture about 15 or 20 meters behind the building.
The mattress might have been the best we were to encounter in our next three weeks on South Island. At least it tied for first!
Breakfast was a treat. Along with the fresh fruit and yogurt, the cooked-to-order hot foods were amazing. I recommend the French toast, made from home-baked bread. But you can't go wrong with the eggs benedict, oatmeal and other offerings.
One of the days we were at Camp Estate involved taking a wildlife tour that went from mid-afternoon to evening ... meaning we would not make the closing time for dinner at most restaurants. The ever-helpful crew went above and beyond, preparing and serving a wonderful charcuterie platter that we enjoyed on our return. Yes, it cost additional, but they did not have to do that. The Estate doesn't normally serve any meals but breakfast.
While we were enjoying this charcuterie, Annalise provided us with tips to things to do and see in the next couple of areas were would be visiting. That's just another example of extending excellent service. I highly recommend Camp Estate for those visiting the Dunedin area. If I could rate it higher than 5, I would.

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank tallbuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 January 2024

Superb accommodation which begins by being greeted by amazing staff Annalise and Laurie. The staff could not do enough for us. Accompanied by free canapés and drinks. Beautiful ultra luxurious rooms. If you want to feel special then this is the hotel for you.

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank emyro
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 December 2023 via mobile

We finally made it to Larnach Castle! It had been on the wish list for a very long time and our stay at Camp Estate did not disappoint. We were greeted on the front steps by Laura, our very affable hostess who checked us in and showed us around. So began a very enjoyable couple of days exploring the castle and surrounds. We took the option of dinner at the castle dining room with our fellow guests which was superb. But breakfast served at Camp Estate was a special treat. Thanks ladies. What a way to start the day! This place is special and if you deserve a treat we would recommend Camp Estate.

Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews