We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
$130
Fully refundable before Fri, 31 May
Expedia.com
$116
Fully refundable before Sat, 1 Jun
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Steve C

Highly recommended

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 8 Apr 2024
Good location, very friendly and efficient service, comfortable bed, plenty of parking, very good shower. Bar with nice atmosphere and good food. I had a very enjoyable stay, thank you. Your staff were especially friendly and helpful. A heater in the outdoor area would be great for us Aucklanders!
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$190
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $167
  • Agoda.com
    $164
  • Priceline
    $170
4.7 km from Ocean Beach Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Official Hotel
$199
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
    $199
  • Agoda.com
    $177
  • Priceline
    $199
3.5 km from Ocean Beach Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
$230
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $230
  • Official Site
    $220
  • Expedia.com
    $230
4.1 km from Ocean Beach Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
$235
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $235
  • Hotels.com
    $231
  • Expedia.com
    $235
4.6 km from Ocean Beach Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Lounge/Dining/Kitchen Space
Booking.com
$307
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $307
  • Hotels.com
    $307
  • Expedia.com
    $307
3.4 km from Ocean Beach Hotel
Free Wifi
Dunedin
Booking.com
$179
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $179
  • Agoda.com
    $156
  • Expedia.com
    $179
3.7 km from Ocean Beach Hotel
Free Wifi
Booking.com
$200
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $200
  • Expedia.com
    $188
  • Hotels.com
    $200
4.6 km from Ocean Beach Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$246
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $246
  • ZenHotels.com
    $202
  • Hotels.com
    $246
3.1 km from Ocean Beach Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Hotels.com
$269
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    $263
  • Agoda.com
    $249
  • Priceline
    $273
10.4 km from Ocean Beach Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$150
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $138
  • Agoda.com
    $129
  • Expedia.com
    $139
4.9 km from Ocean Beach Hotel
Free parking
View more hotels in Dunedin
Reviews (320)
Filter reviews
321 results
Traveller rating
104
134
57
15
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
104
134
57
15
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews heat pump bar meals bathroom sink tidy room comfortable bed car park budget accommodation free wifi great stay city centre would stay here again st clair south island motel jug unit microwave
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 321 reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2024

Good for a one night stay...if you just need a place to sleep. The walk on St. Kilda Beach to St. Clair Beach is very nice. If you plan to go out for dinner, make sure you contact the restaurant to see if it is open, because places close early, and some are not open at all on Sundays.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Dariaxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Andrew Hocken, Owner at Ocean Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2024

Hi there Daria, thank you for your review. Cheers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2024

Up to its usual high standards. I think they have painted the outside. Beds comfortable. Be nice if they had meals in the bar, but they don't. Nearest dairy is at the holiday park. Driving distance to everything you need. I'm running out of things to say

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Andrew Hocken, Owner at Ocean Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2024

Thanks, Kaliana, for this review. We do bar meals in the evening. See you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2024

Basic room suitable for 1 night stay only. Snug and outdated but very clean. Booking.com inaccurately stated that the room came with a microwave but the owner kindly lent us one. We appreciated the small bottle of fresh milk that we were given. There are insufficient convenient powerpoints. The bathroom basin is so tiny that you can't fit the kettle under the faucet so you have to use glasses to transfer water into the kettle. No dining table and only one bedside table.

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Rhonda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Andrew Hocken, Owner at Ocean Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2024

Thanks, Rhonda, for your honest review, it is quite accurate, however we cannot do much more with the units given the space limitations so as long as they are super clean, we are happy to offer them around the $100 mark. You could not have been expecting much more for that amount surely? Safe travelling.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2023 via mobile

Clean tidy room and bathroom.
A bit tight between the sink and door in the bathroom.
Great that there is a bar/restaurant on sight. The bar/reception lady very friendly and also other barmen staff friendly.
Very close to the beach and nearby takeaway places. Very reasonably priced

Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Mealsontthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Andrew Hocken, Owner at Ocean Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2023

Good stuff and many thanks for your wonderful review. Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2023

Very comfortable and clean rooms. Near a very nice a beach. Very quiet despite the pub opposite, which offers good food and friendly staff. The rooms had everything you need as a traveler. Can highly recommend.

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Petra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Andrew Hocken, Owner at Ocean Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2023

Cheers Petra for your review. Safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews