We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$232
View deal
Free cancellation until 29/10/21
Expedia.com
US$211
View deal
Free cancellation until 30/10/21
Agoda.com
US$178
View deal
Free cancellation until 29/10/21
Hotels.comUS$211
CheapTicketsUS$211
PricelineUS$201
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (156)
Filter reviews
156 results
Traveller rating
77
46
19
7
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
77
46
19
7
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews location is excellent comfortable beds street parking washer and dryer the kitchen upstairs octagon accommodation lounge unit
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 156 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2021 via mobile

Promised much; quirky, newly updated and comfortable. It was like much of what we found in Dunedin - tired, dark, dated and unloved. Could have been great, but it wasn’t. Central - yes. Parking - yes as long as you’re a really skinny person. Noisy - absolutely. Still looking for better

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 February 2020

Fabulous apartments 3 mins walk to The Octagon and in a quiet street. We stayed in the 2 bedroom, 2 storied apt and it was beautiful. Gorgeous large bathrooms, modern decor and fully equipped with absolutely everything you could need. Very comfortable beds, spotlessly clean.
It was very quiet except a rubbish truck emptied some bins around 6 am.
The architect did a top notch job of keeping and incorporating elements of the original church and creating great accommodation.
We got an allocated car park with our apt but I dont think it would be hard to get street parking close by

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank christine c
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 December 2019

We stayed in Room 5. The location is excellent and although parking wasn't included, we did not have any difficulties finding a place to park around the corner. This repurposed church offers a unique place to stay when in Dunedin.

The bedrooms are a decent size. However, there were issues with the two bathrooms, specifically the showers. One shower was a full-body shower which would have been excellent if the shower pressure had been sufficient to make it work. It wasn't clear how to even turn the shower on and I needed to ask a member of staff to show me. To be fair, she was exceptionally friendly and helpful and I certainly cannot find fault with customer service!

The bedrooms (and bathrooms) are downstairs. Upstairs is the lounge and the kitchen/dining area. Both are spacious and are decorated well. However, the design of the kitchen leaves something to be desired. The microwave is above the fridge and is far too high for anyone under 6 feet tall to use effectively.

Similarly, the washer and dryer need to be updated. The washer is squeaky and very noisy. The dryer sits above the washer and, like the microwave, is far too high to be used effectively. This ridiculous height must have been noticed when the kitchen/utility area was being fitted because the dryer is upside down in order for the dial to be even remotely reachable. The dryer didn't work.

Considering these issues, I do think this accommodation is a bit overpriced.

Overall, I *would* recommend staying here because it is quite unique but the functionality of the kitchen is something to consider, particularly if you are under 6 feet tall. I don't know if the other apartments are similar but I would imagine they are.

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saltiredj
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 October 2019

Stayed in room 5 for the last few nights, it's ok. Needs a refresh as looking tired. Lacks some basics like bed side tables and a normal selection of kitchen items. Parking is a joke, although the location is very central. We booked parking but didn't get it, make sure you get what you've asked for, although I don't think the manager is that bothered about what people think. We'll look for an alternative in future.

Room tip: One with parking or look else where
Date of stay: October 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Chamskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 October 2019

Incredible experience in a very unusual accomodation.
Beautifully done, perfect location, lovely hostess, a must stay in place!
The architecture well preserved as well as the high comfort make this place exceptional

Date of stay: October 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoloSoane
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews