We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (123)
Filter reviews
123 results
Traveller rating
73
40
7
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
73
40
7
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews underground parking surf beach cafes restaurants watching surfers beachside location great support amazing ocean views saltwater pool heated salt water ten minute drive loved this hotel friendly receptionist some great restaurants hotel restaurant appointed rooms two nights modern hotel
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 123 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2018

Hotel st clair was a greatplace to stay. Very quiet area. Easy access to dunedin. Staff extremely friendly and helpful. Would definetly stay there again. Lots of variety of restaurants and cafes close by

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Joanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelStClair, Front Office Manager at Hotel St Clair, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2018

Thank you Joanne! You were a pleasure to have here, and we appreciate the wonderful feedback from you!

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the future :)

Kind regards,
Hotel St Clair Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2018

Very nice place to stay trendy and friendly.
Many dinning options close buy as well as a good restaurant attached on ground floor.
You will enjoy the views and watching the sun rise its amazing.
We would have no trouble staying again or recommending it to others.
AAA +

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tedebear2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelStClair, Front Office Manager at Hotel St Clair, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2018

Thank you tedebear2017 for this wonderful review! We look forward to your return :)

Kind regards,
Danielle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2018 via mobile

If you are staying in the Dunedin area, drive through downtown and continue 3-4 kilometers south to the little seaside town of St Clair. We stayed at the Hotel St Clair right on the beach. They have great rooms and a nice little restaurant too. We loved our two nights there. When we wanted to tour Dunedin, we drive a short 10 minutes north. They even had underground parking. We highly recommend the Hotel St Clair.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank mark m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelStClair, Reception at Hotel St Clair, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2018

Thank you so much for your wonderful review, its so nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We do hope one day you can come back and enjoy our beautiful wee spot on the esplanade.

Best of wishes,
Kayla
Hotel St Clair

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2018

Very comfortable, clean and spacious room with a king bed and great views of the surfing beach and surrounds from the balcony. A short walk to a choice of restaurants which all seemed to be doing a great trade. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Eastern side rooms still have great views down the beach. 403 was great
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TravellingPareras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelStClair, Receptionist at Hotel St Clair, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2018

Thank you, we are glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us! We are very lucky to be in such a nice wee area with these wonderful views aswell as the great restaurants! We hope to see you again

Best wishes,

Kayla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2018

My husband and I stayed here for one night in April and loved this hotel and the area. You need a car as not close to Dunedin town centre but there are a few lovely cafes/restaurants close by. Room was lovely overlooking the ocean. Very clean and spacious. Staff were friendly and helpful. Spent our days in the busy town of Dunedin checking out all the amazing street art then it was lovely to come back to St Clair at night by the ocean. Would recommend this hotel to anyone. Hopefully we will return one day.

Room Tip: Spend a bit more and get an ocean view room
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Michelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelStClair, Front Office Manager at Hotel St Clair, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write us such a lovely review!

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time here with us. We are about a 15min drive from the city center, but fortunately we still have plenty around us!

Thank you again, and we look forward to welcoming you back one day

Kind regards,
Hotel St Clair team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews