We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Dunedin Museum of Natural Mystery
Open today: 10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Save
Review Highlights
Treasure trove of delights

A Cornucopia of weird and wonderful things. My favourite place to take people and at a bargain... read more

Reviewed yesterday
Matthew P
via mobile
Coolest

Hey this is absolutely the coolest I've ever been in NZ. So many collections not only just bones... read more

Reviewed 22 September 2023
Global23173463947
,
Auckland, New Zealand
Read all 112 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Recommended experiences in and around Dunedin
from $35.00
More Info
from $50.26
More Info
from $125.00
More Info
Reviews (112)
Filter reviews
112 results
Traveller rating
108
3
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
108
3
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews natural history amazing collection each piece mind bending unique art on display for sale well worth a visit centre of town couple of hours new zealand curator bruce curiosities skeleton skull artists
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 112 reviews
Reviewed 16 December 2022 via mobile

An outstanding museum, full of natural history and oddities, well laid out and will keep you fascinated for hours. Spend about two hours there.

Date of experience: December 2022
1  Thank Scenic64383763464
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 November 2022

Full of surprises, wonders and weirdness, this museum should be at the top of any visitor's list when in Dunedin. Dunedin Museum of Natural Mystery is more than a cabinet of curiosities, it is a true museum of discovery, where objects open up worlds of intrigue and new ideas.

Each room is packed with all kinds of unusual objects covering a wide range of subject matter that will interest anyone.

Date of experience: November 2022
1  Thank Doublehappys
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 November 2022 via mobile

Allow enough time to read all the little cards, they are fabulous mix of fact and snippets from the owner's life. Whilst it's an enormous collection it just all works together and is well worth the entry price.

Date of experience: November 2022
Thank julienz123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
brucemX4356DH, Manager at The Dunedin Museum of Natural Mystery, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2022

Thank you so much

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2022

Sometimes funny, often mind-bending, defo an out-of-the-box experience - top of list Dunedin attraction, loved it!

Date of experience: October 2022
Thank natgilberd
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
brucemX4356DH, Manager at The Dunedin Museum of Natural Mystery, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2022

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2022 via mobile

Such an amazing collection of curiosities, will definitely return to spend more time. Younger kids (< 5) might struggle but otherwise something for everyone.

Date of experience: September 2022
1  Thank Cameron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews