We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
tootingtraveller2016
London, United Kingdom

Spacious and comfortable. Just far enough off the main road

Review of Manor Motel
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 22 Mar 2018
Maybe we were lucky, but the two of us got almost a house to ourselves. There was a hallway, lounge, kitchen, bathroom and bedroom. There were beds in the hall and lounge, so the place would sleep six comfortably. Don't be put off by the shabby exterior, they have put all their effort into the inside.
Date of stay: March 2018
Room Tip: Ask for room 3, it it's available!
Trip type: Travelled with friends
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $235
  • Hotels.com
2.1 km from Manor Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Lounge/Dining/Kitchen Space
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $214
  • Hotels.com
1.1 km from Manor Motel
Free Wifi
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $201
  • Hotels.com
0.5 km from Manor Motel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $223
  • Hotels.com
1.6 km from Manor Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $188
  • Hotels.com
2.3 km from Manor Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $218
  • Hotels.com
0.5 km from Manor Motel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Dunedin
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $167
  • Hotels.com
1.3 km from Manor Motel
Free Wifi
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $199
  • Hotels.com
2.2 km from Manor Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $125
  • Hotels.com
1.0 km from Manor Motel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $195
  • Hotels.com
2.8 km from Manor Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Dunedin
Reviews (124)
Filter reviews
124 results
Traveller rating
79
32
6
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
79
32
6
5
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 124 reviews
Reviewed 12 March 2018

When I first got to the Motel, I thought, wow this looks nothing like the photos on the booking website.
It appears that the original block of land has been subdivided with apartments at the front and rear of the original house.
Don't judge a book by its cover though, the apartment I had (Room 2) was amazing.
Its a 2 bedroom apartment (sleeps 4) with a self contained kitchen and bathroom. (No laundry)
Its close enough to the centre of the city to walk to things (around 15 to 20 minutes)
It has free wifi, and free onsite parking. (if the parking is full there is street parking outside)
The driveway is a bit steep though there is enough room up the top of the drive to turn the car around if need be.
The reception guy was so nice and casual.
It was like being greeted by your brother. "Hi, how are you, here is your key".
No suit and tie and being called Sir. (Think he was a student from the local Uni).
I would happily recommend this Motel and I really enjoyed my stay here.
Its an older style apartment but has been renovated with the older features kept and updated. It also has air conditioning though when I stayed there I didn't need it.
Its rare for a NZ Motel.
Well done with this Motel. Well Done!
Thank you for your hospitality

Room tip: Room 1 and 2 appears to be the best.
Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 February 2018

Situated on the approach to the city centre it was easy to find. We had a spacious studio apartment at front of property that was well equipped, clean and a view over the city from the separate bedroom. Parking on site but up a steep drive with limited spaces. Value for money.

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank nickeastwood52
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 February 2018

The unit we had was good. Nicely set out, private and quiet. Tidy and clean with free wifi. When booking the advertising said free on sight carpark. When we arrived we drove in to a vacant carpark. We asked the person we spoke to, do we just use any carpark or is there a specific one? He said that one was okay. When we went out and came back there were no carparks left and the office was closed so we had to park on the road overnight. Which is not ideal for security reasons.

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Keza624
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 December 2017

Our two-bedroom apartment was clean, quiet and spacious. There were minor issues: the advertised "coffee maker' turned out to be just an electric jug, the chopping knife was blunt and the fridge froze the cucumber. But we had no serious complaints and the location, 5-10 minutes from the heart of Dunedin, is great.

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sardanapale
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 August 2017

I stayed in one of the "smaller" rooms which was large by other motel standards. There was a separate kitchen area. Tidy and clean.
The staff were friendly and quick to respond to queries and requests.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank nzcambo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews