We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Jeremy P
Dallas, Texas

A very clean, very well-managed property

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 2 Mar 2024
This is an excellent guest home.
It is immaculately clean, which is
terrific.
There are several room options.
Some exceedingly spartan, just a bed
and a sink.
Some have their own shower and
toilet.
Breakfast is cereal, yogurt, fresh fruit, and several types of bread. Also,
cupcakes and juice. Nothing hot,
but perfectly adequate.
They have a laundry room, with
2 washers and 2 dryers.
The hotel is very well-managed.
There is very limited seating in the
breakfast room, so that can be an
issue.
Check out time is 10 AM.
The property is a 15-20 minute walk
to everything - the town center,
supermarkets, the splendid
botanical gardens, etc.
If i were to return to Dunedin I would
stay here.
Date of stay: January 2024
Room Tip: Breakfast is 7.30-9.00 and the dining area is quite small. I recommend getting there at 7.30 or...
Trip type: Travelled solo
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$195
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $195
  • Agoda.com
    $162
  • Expedia.com
    $172
0.1 km from Sahara Guesthouse & Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$196
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $186
  • Vio.com
    $163
  • Priceline
    $196
0.1 km from Sahara Guesthouse & Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$175
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $178
  • Priceline
    $175
  • Hotels.com
    $178
0.1 km from Sahara Guesthouse & Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$230
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $230
  • Expedia.com
    $228
  • Hotels.com
    $230
0.8 km from Sahara Guesthouse & Motel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Official Hotel
$199
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
    $199
  • Agoda.com
    $173
  • Priceline
    $199
1.3 km from Sahara Guesthouse & Motel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior
Booking.com
$160
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $152
  • Agoda.com
    $146
  • Expedia.com
    $160
0.2 km from Sahara Guesthouse & Motel
Free parking
Dunedin
Booking.com
$215
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $215
  • Agoda.com
    $183
  • Expedia.com
    $186
1.0 km from Sahara Guesthouse & Motel
Free Wifi
Expedia.com
$157
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
    $164
  • Agoda.com
    $144
  • Hotels.com
    $180
9.1 km from Sahara Guesthouse & Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$246
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $259
  • ZenHotels.com
    $190
  • Hotels.com
    $261
1.8 km from Sahara Guesthouse & Motel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
$239
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $219
  • Agoda.com
    $198
  • Expedia.com
    $209
1.8 km from Sahara Guesthouse & Motel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Dunedin
Reviews (15)
Filter reviews
15 results
Traveller rating
11
3
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
11
3
0
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 15 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2023

Old style guest house, clean, comfy beds and pillows, nicely heated, delicious breakfast, friendly hosts, very central, easy walking distance everywhere- I use this place to stay when visiting my son at Uni

Room tip: One of the showers there appears to be no light switch but it turns on automatically when you step in
Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 677jow
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 August 2023 via mobile

Excellent place to stay. Friendly staff. Comfortable bed. Great breakfast. Lots of character. Would recommend to anyone and would stay again. We stayed in the guest house. You could share a joke with them as they were so friendly. I would give them a rating of 5 stars and A+++

Room tip: Plenty of parking. Short walk to restaurants.
Date of stay: July 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank grta678
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 August 2023 via mobile

Headed to Dunedin for a weekend and I was delighted by a stay at the Sahara Guesthouse - better than the photos show.

Both a guesthouse and a motel, my room was inside the guesthouse, which is a gracious old Victorian villa. The room was super comfortable, shabby chic decor, with an ensuite. Plenty of off street parking, close to the university, near the main shopping area and plenty of cafes (can recommend the Bhudda Stix and Buster Greens, which are both nearby).

The room rate included a very decent continental breakfast.

The resident dog came out for a quick hello when I checked in too.

A really lovely stay, and I can highly recommend this guesthouse.

Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank PipL822
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 August 2023 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights at the guesthouse and hence comes with breakfast. We are able to park within the premise and there is a self serviced laundry at the self serviced units bldg - $4 for washing machine and $4 for dryer. There are 2 washers and 2 dryers and there’s an ironing board and iron within the laundry room.

Breakfast are the same on both days, cereals and bread (with toaster), and muffins for us to take. On each table are an assortment of butter/margarine/peanut butter/honey/jams.

Room is spacious (we can hear the road traffic since it is facing the road). We are fine as we get that at our hse back home. As it is an old house, hot water need some time to come in.

Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Angela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 April 2023

There is the motel and the guesthouse, with breakfast included. We slept at the guesthouse for two nights. It's an old building and therefor quite noisy. So you have to be lucky with other guests. If there are small(er) children you are screwed. Breakfast is included but if you love the hot stuff you will be dissapointed. Capacity in the breakfast area is not ok. People are forced to share a table or can't sit at all. One well meant suggestion for the owners: do not facilitate a room just metres from the entrance and right across the reception and breakfast area. That is just no place to accommodate guests. So for everybody who considers booking, you don't want to stay in room nr.7.

Date of stay: April 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank kjeld g
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews