We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
FrequentFlier572853

Too much vehicle noise

Review of Dunedin
2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 21 Oct 2023via mobile
The BIGGEST problem with Dunedin are the local car ‘enthusiasts’ who modify their sh**ty cars with the loudest exhaust they can and drive through the town competing to be the loudest all through the day and we’ll into the night
We were there on a holiday weekend so maybe worse because of that but if Dunedin City want to maintain tourist numbers, they need to deal with it
The town centre was being dug up as well (just like Auckland!) which detracts from its appeal
It’s also by the sea (harbour) but hard to get to the waters edge as a pedestrian (and apparently not worth it when you make it)
The town planners have allowed the town to be separated from the water by industry
Date of stay: October 2023
Room Tip: Avoid staying in the centre because of the vehicle noise Better with your own transport
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$214
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
3.8 km from Dunedin
Free Wifi
Free parking
$180
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Algotels
9.9 km from Dunedin
Free Wifi
Free parking
$133
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
9.0 km from Dunedin
Free Wifi
Free parking
Dunedin
$189
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
2.7 km from Dunedin
Free Wifi
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    $255
  • Hotels.com
2.1 km from Dunedin
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $168
  • Priceline
3.8 km from Dunedin
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Official Hotel
    $199
  • ZenHotels.com
    $186
  • Hotels.com
2.5 km from Dunedin
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $268
  • Algotels
2.2 km from Dunedin
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Deluxe Kitchen Room
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $183
  • Algotels
2.8 km from Dunedin
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $160
  • Priceline
2.3 km from Dunedin
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Dunedin
Reviews (359)
Filter reviews
359 results
Traveller rating
247
82
13
10
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
247
82
13
10
7
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 359 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2023

Been to this place twice beforehand but it’s gone downhill since. There are many vacant shops and others appear tatty. Some good restaurants but not outstanding. The only things worth seeing are the Railway Station and the Church. A boat trip to see the albatross is the only good activity in my opinion.
Christchurch is way better

Room tip: Give it a miss
Date of stay: February 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank cav p
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 March 2023

Everything a nature's lover or a peaceful person need is their. Nice beaches, hills and nice hotels
Food is excellent I am vegetarian their a variety of food. their farmers take their fresh vegetables to sell on weekend

Room tip: Plain your trip because their are many places to see.
Date of stay: January 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Guide36432509830
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 February 2023

Room clean, comfortable and well equipped. Ideal for visiting Dunedin as bus stop right outside, a Domino's Pizza not far away and a Countdown supermarket across the road. DVDs available in reception and friendly helpful staff.

Date of stay: February 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 July 2022

Stayed over my birthday weekend and it was brilliant. Friendly staff, clean room, very accommodating to my needs which made the perfect stay. Thanks so much! one of my best experiences with accommodation.

Date of stay: July 2022
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sashakvss
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 August 2021

We stayed here for 5 nights while our son was playing basketball for Nationals at the Edgar Centre, which is only a 7 minute walk.
We arrived to cheerful friendly staff who made our stay so enjoyable including the lovely cleaners.
Location is perfect with supermarket and shops nearby.
Our room was spacious and had everything we needed, Although on a main road the sound proofing was great.
Rooms were clean and modern and beds were cosy and comfortable. We could have stayed on!
Will definitely be back when in Dunedin.

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank tarnwalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews