We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
KiwiViajero
Wellington, New Zealand

Our new "go to" place in Dunedin

Review of Motel On York
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 25 Jan 2024
We stayed here for one night in January 2024.

We've been to Dunedin various times and have always stayed at different places depending on cost and availability etc. Finally we've found the Motel on York and this will now be our "go to" place when we revisit Dunedin.

The motel is located just one block from the main street, up a slight hill (but nothing too difficult), so just a few minutes from shops and restaurants. There is a good parking area, for which there is no extra charge.

Our room was large with a separate lounge and a good view over the city. The bathroom had a large spa bath, and the kitchen facilities were good. There was no noise from the street, and the wifi worked well.

We will definitely stay here again when next visiting Dunedin.
Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Vicki Cullen, Owner at Motel On York, responded to this review
Responded 28 Jan 2024
Thanks so much for your fab review KiwiViagero!!! It's really great to have such positive feedback. Hope to see you again :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $215
  • Priceline
0.8 km from Motel On York
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $166
  • Hotels.com
0.4 km from Motel On York
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $180
  • Hotels.com
1.1 km from Motel On York
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $197
  • Hotels.com
1.2 km from Motel On York
Free Wifi
Free parking
Deluxe Kitchen Room
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $175
  • Hotels.com
0.4 km from Motel On York
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Official Site
    $230
  • Hotels.com
0.3 km from Motel On York
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $202
  • Hotels.com
0.8 km from Motel On York
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Dunedin
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $188
  • Booking.com
0.5 km from Motel On York
Free Wifi
Exterior
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $155
  • Booking.com
0.7 km from Motel On York
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $170
  • Hotels.com
4.5 km from Motel On York
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Dunedin
Reviews (251)
Filter reviews
251 results
Traveller rating
149
78
18
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
149
78
18
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location guest laundry walking distance centre of town top floor minute walk comfortable bed the main street car park motel octagon hosts heating
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 251 reviews
Reviewed 31 December 2023

Very comfortable and spacious apartment for a 2 night stay. The apartment is very well equipped and quite a few extras which were much appreciated. We found the location perfect, a short easy walk to restaurants in the Octagon and nearby. The managers and all staff were super helpful and friendly and even carried our suitcases upstairs for us. Would definitely stay there again.

Room tip: If stairs are a problem then make sure to ask for ground floor as there are quite a few.
Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Fran J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 July 2023

Excellent motel, convenient location, helpful hosts. Our studio was well equipped and comfortable with underfloor heating in the bathroom and a water filter tap in the kitchen. A hand towel was provided for the kitchen, something I look for but rarely find, evidence of the attention to detail by the hosts

Room tip: Book early, it’s popular
Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Poh198
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 June 2023

Perfect place to stay in the heart of Dunedin. Hosts are friendly and even have a beautiful pussycat to greet u. Was excited when I found out they had a laundry. Walking distance to the octagon and great value for money.

Room tip: It’s set on a hill so be prepared Lololol
Date of stay: December 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ryanclan2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 May 2023 via mobile

A pleasant enough stay, in a studio room with a comfortable bed and the room getting the morning sun.
The bathroom had plenty of bench space although the shower is small with its angled door. The motel is in a great location, easy walking distance to restaurants and the Octagon in the centre of town.
The not-so-good… a parking spot is not assured with parking not allocated to your room and 2 of the 3 nights we stayed the carpark was full when we arrived back after 7pm. Housekeeping did not make the bed or renew the ‘complimentary’ supplies of tea bags or milk; not ideal the milk is given in a refillable bottle. Be aware you may be given a room with stair access only.
It was great to be given a few suggestions for places we had not visited before - we may not have known about these otherwise.
We recommend the motel as a good place to stay and good value for Dunedin.

Date of stay: May 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Graeme W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 April 2023

The location is ideal with restaurants, markets, and sites close by. The hotel itself is well thought out. It is just rooms, no bar or restaurant or anything. They are very useful for tips on activities that guests have confirmed enjoyable and have a guest laundry which was wonderful having been living out of luggage for over two weeks. Just really pleasant proprietors.

Date of stay: April 2023
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank WillCSBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews