We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$170
Fully refundable before Wed, 29 May
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Agoda.com
$144
Fully refundable before Tue, 28 May
No fees just great deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Carol R
Orange, Australia

Perfect unit for us. Would definitely recommend to others.

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 7 Dec 2023
Very satisfied with this unit. Close to town, walking distance to supermarket, shops and some attractions. The unit was spacious, clean, comfortable and quiet with off-street parking. The hosts were friendly and welcoming. The bed was so comfortable. The little kitchen totally met our needs of being self sufficient. Would definitely stay there again.
Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Elsie Sileshi, General Manager at George Street Motel Apartments, responded to this review
Responded 17 Dec 2023
Thank you so much Carol
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$190
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $177
  • Agoda.com
    $160
  • Priceline
    $170
0.2 km from George Street Motel Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$235
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
    $215
  • Priceline
    $235
0.1 km from George Street Motel Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$190
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
  • Priceline
    $190
  • Hotels.com
    $191
0.1 km from George Street Motel Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$230
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $230
  • Hotels.com
    $230
  • Expedia.com
    $230
0.7 km from George Street Motel Apartments
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Official Hotel
$199
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
    $199
  • Agoda.com
    $166
  • Expedia.com
1.2 km from George Street Motel Apartments
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Expedia.com
$300
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
    $273
  • Agoda.com
    $240
  • Hotels.com
    $275
9.2 km from George Street Motel Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
Dunedin Leisure Lodge Main Entrance Daytime SG
Booking.com
$164
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
  • Agoda.com
    $148
  • Priceline
    $164
1.0 km from George Street Motel Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
Dunedin
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $179
  • Vio.com
    $153
  • Priceline
    $179
0.9 km from George Street Motel Apartments
Free Wifi
Exterior
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $150
  • Agoda.com
    $130
  • Priceline
    $138
0.3 km from George Street Motel Apartments
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $246
  • ZenHotels.com
    $195
  • Vio.com
1.7 km from George Street Motel Apartments
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Dunedin
Reviews (159)
Filter reviews
159 results
Traveller rating
74
62
17
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
74
62
17
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews george street central heating great location nice shower two single beds beds were comfortable within walking distance plunger coffee the kitchen ample parking otago university top floor stay there again road noise car park a great place to stay bedroom
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 159 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2023

Price and proximity to town and the uni were reasons we stayed here. My husband loved the sky tv in the lounge and the freeview tv in the bedroom (one bedroom room) especially since the rugby world cup was on. It was clean, tidy, and the host was lovely. The decor was dated but we expected that for the price and we didn't mind. There was no recycling we saw so we took our recyclables to the bins on the street which were everywhere.

Room tip: If you don't want daily servicing like us, let management know. They leave extra towels etc. on the floor for you to take in the mornings.
Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank tanmak2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Elsie Sileshi, General Manager at George Street Motel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2023

Thank you so much for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2023

The unit we had was warm with comfortable bed and a good shower.
Love the location with the shops 5 mins walk away, and a range of eateries even closer!
Thanks for helping to make our Dunedin trip a good one. Will be back.

Room tip: Motel is a great location, warm comfortable accommodation.
Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Pip P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 March 2023 via mobile

Our apartment's gun metal greywalls and carpet and black lino unrelieved by some clashing colours was off-putting but it was comfortable and thoughtfully equipped-- even a coffee plunger. If you don't mind dour and tired decor it's good value and very convenient to central CBD.

Date of stay: March 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Timothy and Ali... M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 January 2023

Stayed one week in a unit with a kitchenette. Not fancy but clean & comfortable. The motel is within walking distance to most sites. On site laundry $6 (NZ) to wash & dry a load. The city bus is also a good resource & costs $1.50 (NZ) per ride, regardless where you go. Kitchen stocked with most frequently needed cookware, nice stove & midsized frig. Two large grocery stores a few blocks away. The location felt safe & there was no road noise. The on-site owners were friendly & helpful. I didn’t rent a car but there seemed ample parking. If you have multiple tech items that need simultaneous charging, you may want a power strip. There are ample plug-in power outlets but no USB ports. If I return to Dunedin, I’d be happy to stay here again.

Room tip: Stairs are easy on knees. Ramps in place for easy suitcase pulling. I stayed on 1st floor. There appeared to be a few ground level rooms.
Date of stay: January 2023
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank 150Susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 January 2023

While not an overtly extravagant motel, the George Street Motel Apartments is decent enough for what it is. In fact, it surprised me with what it had to offer. Our family of four easily fitted into a standard room (a large bed in the bedroom for us parents, and two single beds in the lounge for the kids). The lounge had a large TV, and the bedroom had a second TV. It was clean, tidy, and warm. And, the plunger coffee was great!

We stayed in the height of summer, so cooling was a little bit of an issue, but the sleep was still comfortable. The room has many types of heating (including central heating) but it didn't seem to offer the same facilities for cooling. I'd be interested to see what the room is like in winter, as the large window appeared to be single glazing, and the doorframe seemed to leak in outside air. In Dunedin, temperature is everything.

Parking was fine (we were right down the back, away from the street side, so I felt our car was safe). We were staying on the top floor, so it was a little bit of a sport to get all our luggage up and down the stairs. The receptionist was very friendly and helpful. All in all, the accommodation turned out better than what I was expecting, and I'd happily stay there again.

Date of stay: January 2023
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kerrydp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews