We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$180
Fully refundable before Wed, 13 Mar
$180
Fully refundable before Fri, 15 Mar
No prepayment needed
Priceline
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (159)
Filter reviews
159 results
Traveller rating
74
62
17
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
74
62
17
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews george street central heating great location nice shower two single beds beds were comfortable within walking distance plunger coffee the kitchen ample parking otago university top floor stay there again road noise car park a great place to stay bedroom
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 159 reviews
Reviewed 6 July 2023

The unit we had was warm with comfortable bed and a good shower.
Love the location with the shops 5 mins walk away, and a range of eateries even closer!
Thanks for helping to make our Dunedin trip a good one. Will be back.

Room tip: Motel is a great location, warm comfortable accommodation.
Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Pip P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 March 2023 via mobile

Our apartment's gun metal greywalls and carpet and black lino unrelieved by some clashing colours was off-putting but it was comfortable and thoughtfully equipped-- even a coffee plunger. If you don't mind dour and tired decor it's good value and very convenient to central CBD.

Date of stay: March 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Timothy and Ali... M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 January 2023

Stayed one week in a unit with a kitchenette. Not fancy but clean & comfortable. The motel is within walking distance to most sites. On site laundry $6 (NZ) to wash & dry a load. The city bus is also a good resource & costs $1.50 (NZ) per ride, regardless where you go. Kitchen stocked with most frequently needed cookware, nice stove & midsized frig. Two large grocery stores a few blocks away. The location felt safe & there was no road noise. The on-site owners were friendly & helpful. I didn’t rent a car but there seemed ample parking. If you have multiple tech items that need simultaneous charging, you may want a power strip. There are ample plug-in power outlets but no USB ports. If I return to Dunedin, I’d be happy to stay here again.

Room tip: Stairs are easy on knees. Ramps in place for easy suitcase pulling. I stayed on 1st floor. There appeared to be a few ground level rooms.
Date of stay: January 2023
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank 150Susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 January 2023

While not an overtly extravagant motel, the George Street Motel Apartments is decent enough for what it is. In fact, it surprised me with what it had to offer. Our family of four easily fitted into a standard room (a large bed in the bedroom for us parents, and two single beds in the lounge for the kids). The lounge had a large TV, and the bedroom had a second TV. It was clean, tidy, and warm. And, the plunger coffee was great!

We stayed in the height of summer, so cooling was a little bit of an issue, but the sleep was still comfortable. The room has many types of heating (including central heating) but it didn't seem to offer the same facilities for cooling. I'd be interested to see what the room is like in winter, as the large window appeared to be single glazing, and the doorframe seemed to leak in outside air. In Dunedin, temperature is everything.

Parking was fine (we were right down the back, away from the street side, so I felt our car was safe). We were staying on the top floor, so it was a little bit of a sport to get all our luggage up and down the stairs. The receptionist was very friendly and helpful. All in all, the accommodation turned out better than what I was expecting, and I'd happily stay there again.

Date of stay: January 2023
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kerrydp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 June 2022 via mobile

I brought my daughter to Dunedin to have a look around Otago University and we based ourselves sr George St Motel Apartments. It was the perfect location as we never had too far to walk and we always had a car park there. The room we had was big enough for both of us, had everything we needed and the beds were comfortable. The team is great and I thoroughly recommend you check them out.

Date of stay: May 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank ericsA5331RZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews