We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem of a place!”
Review of Arden Street House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Arden Street House
Ranked #25 of 61 Dunedin B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 January 2016 via mobile

We stayed here partly because it was close to our friend's house in the next street, but also as it had good reviews - we were not disappointed. We were warmly welcomed by Dave and were soon settled in. Tea and coffee can be made in the guest lounge at any time, breakfast is self serve: a large bowl of fresh fruit was always available, muesli, cereals, home made yogurt, toast and jam etc. The whole house is decorated in a very eclectic way, with all sorts of curios in all sorts of places. 20 minutes walk away is the steepest residential street in the world, a must see.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Cholladua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joyce l, Owner at Arden Street House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2016

Thanks for staying with us. It was our pleasure to host you! Really pleased you enjoyed your stay and our colourful home!
Joyce and Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 27 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2016

I was surprised to be shown to our room in the garage. No mention of this option on the main Arden St website or any pictures even. If I had known I would have asked for a different room. I would not want to stay there in the winter months as the garage floor where painted only was freezing. To use the shower (which is modern) you need to be short not tall. A six foot person would hit their head on the ceiling!!!
We stayed 2 nights & came back to find our bed had been made, clean towels put out, dishes done, which was a nice touch.
It would have been nice to have teaspoons & teabags/coffee/sugar as there was a jug/kettle, we had bought our own milk. The one breakfast we had was fine but on our leaving morning, which happened to be the 1st Jan we went up to find breakfast was to be from 9am not 8am as per the previous morning, so we did not get any. The owners were away and the backpackers were running the place. The two we met were courteous & nice.
Although the Wifi was free, it was very poor to use

Room Tip: There is a photo of the garage room on this site of it and it look great, so ask the owner directly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank raro20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joyce l, Owner at Arden Street House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2016

Really please you enjoyed the effort our workers we made to make you feel at home and the fresh towels made bed each day. Sorry you missed breakfast on your on new years day , your key actually opens the door to the main house and breakfast room too so you could have helped yourself to breakfast that day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2015 via mobile

We just arrived, but no owner was there. Instead a cat on our bed. Carpets a bit old, ready for renovation. Same for the res troom. Breakfast is developable, but nice hints for potential hiking trips. Location ok, enough space for your car.

Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Sebastian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2015

We stayed only for one night at Ardens but it was a lovely stay. It was a cold, rainy day and we got a warm bed with an electric blanket! Superb. The interior of the house makes you feel like you're at home. We were setting off early next day so we opted for not having a breakfast what was at reduced price. Very friendly staff. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank KarolaRS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joyce l, Owner at Arden Street House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2015

So pleased you enjoyed your stay! We love meeting guests from all around the world!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2015

My son & I stayed overnight in June. The owners weren't there when we arrived, but had left me a note with directions to my room. The note was addressed to a "Mr" even though the booking was in my name (a female).
Our room was a garage converted into a room with an ensuite. It was clean and warm. There wasn't a TV in the room, but it did say there was when I booked on booking.com.
We didn't stay for the provided breakfast as wanted to get back on the road. I went inside to say goodbye & thank them, but another guest told me they weren't there. When I got home I had an email from the owner requesting my credit card security number, which I found odd as I had already completed the transaction online.
Accommodation was good - but service could have been a whole lot more professional.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank hidez_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joyce l, Owner at Arden Street House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2016

Hello Hidea_12
Sorry you felt you had a bad experience of being left instructions of how to get to your room when we were called away unexpectedly.
Actually it was our worker who told you that we the owners were not home and who asked for payment.
Yes I did email you for your payment as when my worker asked for the payment for your booking you told them that you had already paid (but in fact Booking.com only takes the details and the booking is paid for once the guest arrives at their accommodation).
So by this time you will have seen that there has been no payment taken off your credit card for your accommodation taken for your stay with us so actually you have actually stayed without paying.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
2.8 km away
97 Motel Moray
97 Motel Moray
#41 of 61 in Dunedin
132 reviews
1.3 km away
Albatross Inn Bed & Breakfast
1.7 km away
Kiwis Nest
Kiwis Nest
#8 of 61 in Dunedin
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 km away
Portobello Motel Cottages
Portobello Motel Cottages
#1 of 2 in Portobello
490 reviews
15.8 km away
Longbourne Lodge Country Motel
13.8 km away
Bonnie Knights Motel
Bonnie Knights Motel
#4 of 4 in Mosgiel
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arden Street House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arden Street House

Address: 36 Arden Street, Dunedin 9010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Dunedin
Price Range: $95 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Arden Street House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arden Street House Home-stay Bed and Breakfast Top Choice 2016/2017 Dunedin Lonely Planet Guides. Arden Street House is a comfortable, warm and affordable 1930s character bed and breakfast / home-stay. Originally built for a sea captain, our home has lovely stained glass windows depicting sea themes. Guests describe our home and hosts as having a wonderful warmth far beyond temperature! Arden Street House has an interesting, arty and quirky decor. Bedrooms are themed with African or art deco character and are warm, large and sunny, with great views of our lovely garden and rolling hillsides. We are centrally located close to town with good free parking in a quiet location. A with a mix of single, double and queen sized combinations and feature TV, heater, electric blankets and hairdryers. Some have ensuite bathrooms. Your hosts Joyce and Dave, Tweety and Cutie (our cheeky cats) host social dinners - a great way to meet 'colourful locals' using produce from our organic garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Arden Street House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing