We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value, feels like home”
Review of Arden Street House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Arden Street House
Ranked #25 of 61 Dunedin B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

We booked a double room last minute at this place and arrived quite late in the evening. Joyce opened the door with a huge smile and welcomed us in her b&b very warmly. She is a very kind and helpful person. The house looks like a charming little museum with many pieces of art everywhere - some nice and some ugly. But the overall atmosphere is very comfy and it really feels like home. The facilities are very clean (and they smell like they've just been cleaned). I would totally recommend this place!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank fabichfabich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 42 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2014

I had looked at this place on the net and unfortunately paid for it in advance. I thought it looked charming and quaint. Hence I booked it. Foolishly I did not read the negative reviews! Granted the place is "quirky", and it appeared clean. However, the place is a kin to a hostel.- but an expensive one at $125 a night. My husband and I have stayed in B&B's for years in NZ and overseas and this was very over priced for what you got. I had a late flight in, and when I explained to the owner that I was not happy with the room, she refused to give me any money back. I then had to go and book a room in a motel. All in all a very negative experience. I suppose the pitfalls of an unregulated industry i.e. B & Bs

Room Tip: dont stay there would be my advice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank bkool2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We had an incredible stay at Arden street house. The interior is very quirky and gives off a warm vibe. Our room was very spacious and we felt like we were right at home. The location is ideal, we were able to take a short walk to the botanical gardens. The positioning of the house is also great, as we had a stunning view of Dunedin. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marsha u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Stayed in their ensuite room, what a great eccentric place. Interesting decor all around, quiet location. It's about 40 minute walk to the city center, or there is a bus connection too, I walked whenever I went into the center. Good breakfast too

Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
Thank 2012kk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

It was a last minute decision to stay in Dunedin and there was still a single room available in Arden house. When I arrived in the b&b people were having dinner and I was invited to join for desert. The room was a bit dated but it had a good bed and enough room for 1 person. I loved the fresh fruit salad for breakfast and enjoyed the company of the other guests. When I was there all guests were 40+ and there was one family. I think there were younger people staying in the backpackers in the back. It was a great experience.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jannneke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dunedin hotels
2.8 km away
97 Motel Moray
97 Motel Moray
#41 of 61 in Dunedin
132 reviews
1.3 km away
Albatross Inn Bed & Breakfast
1.7 km away
Kiwis Nest
Kiwis Nest
#8 of 61 in Dunedin
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 km away
Portobello Motel Cottages
Portobello Motel Cottages
#1 of 2 in Portobello
490 reviews
15.8 km away
Longbourne Lodge Country Motel
13.8 km away
Bonnie Knights Motel
Bonnie Knights Motel
#4 of 4 in Mosgiel
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arden Street House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arden Street House

Address: 36 Arden Street, Dunedin 9010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Dunedin
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Dunedin
Price Range: $95 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Arden Street House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arden Street House Home-stay Bed and Breakfast Top Choice 2016/2017 Dunedin Lonely Planet Guides. Arden Street House is a comfortable, warm and affordable 1930s character bed and breakfast / home-stay. Originally built for a sea captain, our home has lovely stained glass windows depicting sea themes. Guests describe our home and hosts as having a wonderful warmth far beyond temperature! Arden Street House has an interesting, arty and quirky decor. Bedrooms are themed with African or art deco character and are warm, large and sunny, with great views of our lovely garden and rolling hillsides. We are centrally located close to town with good free parking in a quiet location. A with a mix of single, double and queen sized combinations and feature TV, heater, electric blankets and hairdryers. Some have ensuite bathrooms. Your hosts Joyce and Dave, Tweety and Cutie (our cheeky cats) host social dinners - a great way to meet 'colourful locals' using produce from our organic garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Arden Street House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing