We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Arden Street House
Nearby Hotels
US$143
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$162
US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$101
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alexis Motor Lodge(Dunedin)(Great Value!)
US$105
US$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Victoria Hotel Dunedin(Dunedin)(Great Value!)
US$83
US$80
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$135
US$113
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$149
US$144
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amross Motel(Dunedin)(Great Value!)
US$114
US$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dunedin Palms Motel(Dunedin)(Great Value!)
US$130
US$124
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kiwis Nest(Dunedin)(Great Value!)
US$52
US$49
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (74)
Filter reviews
74 results
Traveller rating
35
20
6
5
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
35
20
6
5
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsother guestsfresh fruit saladcharming place to staynew zealandensuite roomfriendly hostsquiet locationwould stay againcomfortable bedfree wifijoycewoofersuniversity
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 74 reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2013

I stayed for 2 nights at the B&B section of this hotel and it was ideal for me. The location, just behind Knox College and just past the Botanical Gardens, is great for people like me who are visiting students at Otago University. It is a bit of a walk to the Octagon, but much, much quieter than other places I have stayed in Dunedin that are more central. I loved the quirky nature of the place and enjoyed the fresh fruit salad at breakfast. Will certainly be back.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sylvia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

An awesome stay ! Very convinient, with wondefully equipped, charactered home. A very uniquely architectured house, with yet reasonable tarrifs !
If I'm ever coming back to Dunedin, I'm heading straight to Arden Street House !!
Lovely hosts, Joyce and Dave !
And you will love that place as you enter.

Room Tip: Choose a room where washrooms and toilets are attached with your bedrooms !
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pavanjeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

If you are looking for something a bit different when you stay in Dunedin, this is a good place. Very friendly people, clean cosy, quirky rooms. Close to restaurants and bus route. Good 20 minute walk to the Octagon. A welcoming place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OwlGirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theleopardwoman, Owner at Arden Street House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2013

It was a pleasure meeting you. Glad you enjoyed your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2013

My husband and I stayed for two nights in a charming comfortable double room with ensuite facilities, and a lovely view of the Botanical Gardens. Our hostess and her staff were warm and welcoming, and the breakfasts were healthy and delicious, served in a breakfast room with a good view of the valley. The (optional) dinners were tasty and inexpensive, and provided an opportunity to talk to many of the guests and staff present. Loved the creative,eclectic decor - made us feel very happy and relaxed. Arden St House is close to the Botanic Gardens and the University of Otago, but a longish walk to the heart of the city (at least 45 minutes). But a delightful location, nevertheless.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

This is the second time I have stayed here. I enjoyed it so much last year I returned again.
It is a lovely house with very friendly hosts.
The breakfasts are delightful: fresh fruit salad, toast, cereals, coffee and juice, sitting at the dining table in the bay window overlooking the North-East Valley.
The dinners are excellent value. Healthy, delicious and inexpensive. Better than any of the restaurants in the immediate area.
The rooms are warm and comfortable.
The decor is eclectic, so don't stay here if you are looking for a bland hotel experience.

Room Tip: The single rooms are small but very cosy and warm and have a great view out over the valley.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anomaly14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews