We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Menu has deteriorated”

Emerson's Taproom and Restaurant
Ranked #26 of 388 Restaurants in Dunedin
Description: Emersons Taproom sits in the heart of Emersons Brewery. Serving a wide range of beers on tap and a menu that complements them. Come, sit back, relax and immerse yourself in the working brewery. Founded by Richard Emerson in 1992 - we are part of his dream to run a Family Brewery Pub.
Restaurant details
Description: Emersons Taproom sits in the heart of Emersons Brewery. Serving a wide range of beers on tap and a menu that complements them. Come, sit back, relax and immerse yourself in the working brewery. Founded by Richard Emerson in 1992 - we are part of his dream to run a Family Brewery Pub.
Reviewed 24 April 2022 via mobile

We love Emerson’s and always take out of town visitors here for dinner. However the menu is really now only good for the sharing plates and nibbles. Main menu used to have lots of lovely options but is now reduced to steak or burgers. Even the lovely vegetable sides are basically gone. Won’t be going for dinner again, just drinks and snacks. A real shame.

Date of visit: April 2022
Thank 473kylieo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Elle R, Marketing at Emerson's Taproom and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2022

HI Kylie, sorry for the delay in responding to your review. We did read it at the time and following your feedback (among other things) we've made some menu changes. New options have been added (Kale, date & almond salad, braised beef brisket, bushfire pumpkin & ricotta gnocchi, windsor blue, walnut, winter pear and witloof salad). We'll be reviewing the menu regularly and adding new items. Some of the old favourites will remain because they are super popular. But if there is something you'd like to see, please email us and we'll see what we can do! Cheers from the Emerson's team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (462)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 35 of 462 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2022 via mobile

Went for Sunday 10th lunch with dear lifetime friends it was reasonably busy and we chose a booth inside for privacy to chat. Most patrons were outside. It is absolutely mystifying as to why our young waitress was so blatantly rude, officious and sour with us. We started off super friendly and courteous to her but we were totally shocked by her outrageously rude service. Slamming our bowls down in a stack in front of one of our party after we had to ask for plates our food was served to us with no plates and not enough cutlery. . There were 5 of us and a seperate table of two teens and we were given 3 sets of cutlery for us all. I politely and respectfully asked for more cutlery and the waitress actually rolled her eyes and literally stalked off without speaking and slammed them down in front of us. We literally couldn't believe our eyes at how unfathomably rude she was. In the end we asked to speak to the manager and asked if she was having a bad day as we couldn't fathom why on earth she was so awful. The manager was so young and I seriously doubt she was a manger perhaps just a work colleague(?) a note to the owners: if you are not there and you're employing very young and obviously inexperienced and untrained staff as least offer them basic training in customer service. The food and drinks were fine it's just the service it's a disgrace!

I wouldn't spend money there again as service is a very important part of any dining experience. Just a smile and warm greeting and welcome would have gone a long way to our tolerance of untrained and inexperienced service but the blatant rudeness for no reason is unforgivable. If this were my business I would certainly want to know and do some drastic training and have someone in authority there to oversee things!! My local friends were so embarrassed that they'd suggested this place. Too many other choices to bother ever going there again.

Date of visit: April 2022
Thank Desibro
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Elle R, Marketing at Emerson's Taproom and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2022

Hi Desibro, thanks for taking the time to give this feedback. We are sorry you got the experience you did at the time and since your feedback (and other reviews we received during the same period of time in April) we've put more focus on staff training. We know how reliant we are on customers and continually emphasize to our team members that providing great service is paramount. Thankfully our recent online reviews are more positive and we know we need to be consistently great in the future. Cheers from the Emerson's team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2022

More often than not we get seated here and then just abandoned. We come here 3 times a week and the food and beer is great but the service is crap. Such a pity they can't get it right. I thought CJ would be all over this, but no. Pick your game up team or you will get more bad reviews

Date of visit: February 2022
Thank C3739JVjuang
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Elle R, Marketing at Emerson's Taproom and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2022

Hi, thanks for taking the time to review and we're sorry you received the service you did. Thank you for supporting us so regularly and I hope the service you've received since you posted this review has been better. Since this review (and others we received during this period of time back in February/March), we've put more focus on staff training and service quality. We want to give great service and we take satisfaction from positive reviews and happy customers. So we know we need to do better when we don't deliver! Cheers from the Emerson's team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2022

Food is terrible, the chef needs the boot. Don't come here. The beef brisket was disgusting, it made me feel physically sick. Never returning

Date of visit: November 2021
Thank Cooper2507
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 January 2022 via mobile

If you’re into ur Emerson’s then this is defiantly the place for you. Spacious and nicely decorated brewery where you can get a drinks of your favourite tipple and a bit of food to match. They also have a retail shop.

Date of visit: January 2022
1  Thank AnthonyG542
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Emerson's Taproom and Restaurant also viewed

 
Dunedin, Otago Region
 

Been to Emerson's Taproom and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.