We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plenty for four!”
Review of Casa Publica

Casa Publica
Ranked #23 of 1,232 Restaurants in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $33
Description: Think back to a time when prohibition ruled over America. Dark times for some. For others, a time of opportunity and prosperity. One who seized the moment was Mr Hugo A Chile. Hugo was born 27 June, 1905. He was only 15 when the prohibition came into effect, about the time he was taking over his fathers mini-home distillery. Originally learning his craft to support the now fatherless family, Hugo created unthinkable profits by running rum to LA. Back then this journey would take 9 weeks each way, but after the third journey he was able to buy a lorry. After the fifth run he had his distribution network established. He never looked back. When you enter Casa Publica, you’re entering Hugo’s world. Come, sit and savour the taste, the obsessions, and the lifestyle of a man whose time begged the bending of rules, a little ruthlessness, a lot of rum, and an insatiable obsession for women’s shoes.
Restaurant details
Description: Think back to a time when prohibition ruled over America. Dark times for some. For others, a time of opportunity and prosperity. One who seized the moment was Mr Hugo A Chile. Hugo was born 27 June, 1905. He was only 15 when the prohibition came into effect, about the time he was taking over his fathers mini-home distillery. Originally learning his craft to support the now fatherless family, Hugo created unthinkable profits by running rum to LA. Back then this journey would take 9 weeks each way, but after the third journey he was able to buy a lorry. After the fifth run he had his distribution network established. He never looked back. When you enter Casa Publica, you’re entering Hugo’s world. Come, sit and savour the taste, the obsessions, and the lifestyle of a man whose time begged the bending of rules, a little ruthlessness, a lot of rum, and an insatiable obsession for women’s shoes.
Reviewed 16 June 2024

We went with the meat share platter and threw small plates which we requested all together. We're not big eaters, so in hindsight, we probably would have been fine without the small plates, or just ordered the small plates first, rather than with the main.
All in all, a lovely evening out with great service.

Date of visit: June 2024
Thank WisiNZWahine
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1,572)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 1,572 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2024

What an unexpected surprise! We were looking forward to dinner there and had read good things but the evening went above our expectations. The staff were friendly, knowledgable and fun. Gave you their attention with out over doing it. The food was exceptional and I told them I would consider moving to CHCH just for the pleasure of dining there again. They had a guitarist playing which was just the icing on the cake. The music was beautiful and the acoustics were such that they did not over power or impede conversation. Just a sensational night - Well done Team Casa Publica!

Date of visit: May 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sashamadas
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
AVC Manager, Owner at Casa Publica, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2024

Sasha, thank you so much for sharing your wonderful experience at Casa Publica! We're thrilled to hear that our team and atmosphere exceeded your expectations. We appreciate your kind words and hope to welcome you back soon for another sensational night when you return to CHCH!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2024

Sensational decor,service amazing and the food would be hard to beat.Very reasonably priced in a vibrant location.Many options for dining,with a great outdoor setting,as the tram passes by.An upstairs facility for private functions available.

Date of visit: April 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank HeaMcD
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
AVC Manager, Owner at Casa Publica, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2024

Hi HeaMcD, thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful feedback! We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our decor, service, and food. We strive to create a vibrant and welcoming atmosphere for all our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another great experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2024 via mobile

Walked in this evening out of the cold miserable weather into a warm and busy service tonight

Partner booked the wrong date but Mike the wonderful host found us a seat by the bar floor area very quickly

Live acoustic guitar playing which made our Friday wind down so relaxing and inviting

A large glass of Mt Difficulty pinot noir and pint of hazy arrived very swiftly and our order was taken

The food was absolutely delicious 10/10, we were served by the lovely Sam who's service was excellent and attentive thank you for looking after us tonight

Will definitely be back 😊

Date of visit: April 2024
Thank Amethyst_Bee
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
AVC Manager, Owner at Casa Publica, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2024

Hi Amethyst! Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We're delighted to hear that Mike and Sam provided exceptional service during your visit. It's wonderful to know that you enjoyed the live music and delicious food. We look forward to welcoming you back soon! 😊

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2024 via mobile

OMG such a great venue. We ordered the plato de carne between 4 of us, added prawns and were completely stuffed. So yum, the chicken melted in your mouth.

Date of visit: April 2024
Thank 690sallyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
AVC Manager, Owner at Casa Publica, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2024

Hi Sally!
Thank you so much for the fantastic review! We're thrilled to hear that you had such a wonderful experience at our venue and enjoyed the plato de carne. Your kind words mean a lot to us and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Casa Publica also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Casa Publica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.