We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tiki like cocktails”
Review of Casa Publica

Casa Publica
Ranked #25 of 1,222 Restaurants in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $33
Description: Think back to a time when prohibition ruled over America. Dark times for some. For others, a time of opportunity and prosperity. One who seized the moment was Mr Hugo A Chile. Hugo was born 27 June, 1905. He was only 15 when the prohibition came into effect, about the time he was taking over his fathers mini-home distillery. Originally learning his craft to support the now fatherless family, Hugo created unthinkable profits by running rum to LA. Back then this journey would take 9 weeks each way, but after the third journey he was able to buy a lorry. After the fifth run he had his distribution network established. He never looked back. When you enter Casa Publica, you’re entering Hugo’s world. Come, sit and savour the taste, the obsessions, and the lifestyle of a man whose time begged the bending of rules, a little ruthlessness, a lot of rum, and an insatiable obsession for women’s shoes.
Restaurant details
Description: Think back to a time when prohibition ruled over America. Dark times for some. For others, a time of opportunity and prosperity. One who seized the moment was Mr Hugo A Chile. Hugo was born 27 June, 1905. He was only 15 when the prohibition came into effect, about the time he was taking over his fathers mini-home distillery. Originally learning his craft to support the now fatherless family, Hugo created unthinkable profits by running rum to LA. Back then this journey would take 9 weeks each way, but after the third journey he was able to buy a lorry. After the fifth run he had his distribution network established. He never looked back. When you enter Casa Publica, you’re entering Hugo’s world. Come, sit and savour the taste, the obsessions, and the lifestyle of a man whose time begged the bending of rules, a little ruthlessness, a lot of rum, and an insatiable obsession for women’s shoes.
Reviewed 22 March 2024 via mobile

The food was fantastic and the cocktails divine! Sadly, service was slow and we were a bit forgotten when it came to taking orders. But overall, it was a fantastic lunch!

Date of visit: March 2024
Thank H9338WYjessicag
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Globe, Owner at Casa Publica, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2024

Hi H9338WYjessicag,
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the food and cocktails! We're sorry to hear about the service issue you experienced, and we appreciate you bringing it to our attention. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (1,567)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 1,567 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2024 via mobile

Fabulous food. Really enjoyed the guacamole being made at our table. Nice food to share, prices mid to high. Very busy would recommend to book.

Date of visit: March 2024
Thank 673carmelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 March 2024

Delicious food, excellent wine and rum. Friendly professional service. The lamb and pork tacos really good. The squid also superb.

Date of visit: March 2024
Thank Doublegee54
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 March 2024

We used to come here often, but not sure if management has changed, because we will never come back again. What a disappointment. Will never step foot in this sorry excuse of an establishment again!

Date of visit: February 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Wander54081734957
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 March 2024

Order the lamb. Fabulous. The ceviche was under seasoned and the salsa was with flour tortilla chips, not corn. But the wine and the lamb loin atoned for this.

Date of visit: March 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Trip38041943689
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Casa Publica also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Casa Publica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.