We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't waste your money”
Review of Casa Publica

Casa Publica
Ranked #23 of 1,232 Restaurants in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $33
Description: Think back to a time when prohibition ruled over America. Dark times for some. For others, a time of opportunity and prosperity. One who seized the moment was Mr Hugo A Chile. Hugo was born 27 June, 1905. He was only 15 when the prohibition came into effect, about the time he was taking over his fathers mini-home distillery. Originally learning his craft to support the now fatherless family, Hugo created unthinkable profits by running rum to LA. Back then this journey would take 9 weeks each way, but after the third journey he was able to buy a lorry. After the fifth run he had his distribution network established. He never looked back. When you enter Casa Publica, you’re entering Hugo’s world. Come, sit and savour the taste, the obsessions, and the lifestyle of a man whose time begged the bending of rules, a little ruthlessness, a lot of rum, and an insatiable obsession for women’s shoes.
Restaurant details
Description: Think back to a time when prohibition ruled over America. Dark times for some. For others, a time of opportunity and prosperity. One who seized the moment was Mr Hugo A Chile. Hugo was born 27 June, 1905. He was only 15 when the prohibition came into effect, about the time he was taking over his fathers mini-home distillery. Originally learning his craft to support the now fatherless family, Hugo created unthinkable profits by running rum to LA. Back then this journey would take 9 weeks each way, but after the third journey he was able to buy a lorry. After the fifth run he had his distribution network established. He never looked back. When you enter Casa Publica, you’re entering Hugo’s world. Come, sit and savour the taste, the obsessions, and the lifestyle of a man whose time begged the bending of rules, a little ruthlessness, a lot of rum, and an insatiable obsession for women’s shoes.
Reviewed 4 March 2024

We used to come here often, but not sure if management has changed, because we will never come back again. What a disappointment. Will never step foot in this sorry excuse of an establishment again!

Date of visit: February 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Wander54081734957
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1,572)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 1,572 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2024

Order the lamb. Fabulous. The ceviche was under seasoned and the salsa was with flour tortilla chips, not corn. But the wine and the lamb loin atoned for this.

Date of visit: March 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Trip38041943689
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 February 2024 via mobile

Great Mexican food, with friendly attentive staff (we visited twice and were remembered the second time, even though there were a few days between each visit). The chicken fajitas were delicious and the salsa raja with chips was a great start to a meal: not too spicy, but with more than enough flavour.

Date of visit: February 2024
Thank sarahfO5722DI
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 February 2024

We recently visited for my sister's hen do.
We had booked a large table upstairs with the balcony and were all looking forward to a lovely meal at her favourite restaurant.
Unfortunately due to the fact my sister was wearing a veil, the bride to be was advised alcohol would not be served to her. This left her very upset and embarrassed and ruined what was supposed to be a lovely evening. Would have completely understood if she had been making a spectacle of herself, this was the start of her evening and we hadn't even been served drinks!
The staff were not particularly concerned that the bride to be was upset, we advised we were to leave for this reason and they happily let a large group of 18 who would have spent alot of money walk out!
Very disappointing as had been previously and had always enjoyed, probably wouldn't return due to the poor service.

Date of visit: February 2024
Thank CarlyGerrardWalsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 February 2024 via mobile

Great ambience, excellent food. We went for the chefs choice, which is four courses and you don’t know what you are getting. The guacamole made at the table was the first course and was very tasty, then 2 small plates - some tacos - these were excellent, the main was a hanging chicken stack with veg, potatoes and couscous which was all very tasty and filling! Dessert was banana chimichanga and small donuts - sublime. Service was fab too

Date of visit: February 2024
Thank teresat647
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Casa Publica also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Casa Publica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.