We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The real South American treasure. I think that's what the conquistadors were looking for!”
Review of Casa Publica

Casa Publica
Ranked #23 of 1,225 Restaurants in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $33
Description: Think back to a time when prohibition ruled over America. Dark times for some. For others, a time of opportunity and prosperity. One who seized the moment was Mr Hugo A Chile. Hugo was born 27 June, 1905. He was only 15 when the prohibition came into effect, about the time he was taking over his fathers mini-home distillery. Originally learning his craft to support the now fatherless family, Hugo created unthinkable profits by running rum to LA. Back then this journey would take 9 weeks each way, but after the third journey he was able to buy a lorry. After the fifth run he had his distribution network established. He never looked back. When you enter Casa Publica, you’re entering Hugo’s world. Come, sit and savour the taste, the obsessions, and the lifestyle of a man whose time begged the bending of rules, a little ruthlessness, a lot of rum, and an insatiable obsession for women’s shoes.
Restaurant details
Description: Think back to a time when prohibition ruled over America. Dark times for some. For others, a time of opportunity and prosperity. One who seized the moment was Mr Hugo A Chile. Hugo was born 27 June, 1905. He was only 15 when the prohibition came into effect, about the time he was taking over his fathers mini-home distillery. Originally learning his craft to support the now fatherless family, Hugo created unthinkable profits by running rum to LA. Back then this journey would take 9 weeks each way, but after the third journey he was able to buy a lorry. After the fifth run he had his distribution network established. He never looked back. When you enter Casa Publica, you’re entering Hugo’s world. Come, sit and savour the taste, the obsessions, and the lifestyle of a man whose time begged the bending of rules, a little ruthlessness, a lot of rum, and an insatiable obsession for women’s shoes.
Reviewed 19 February 2024

Fantastic environment, staff, and of course food!
Lot's of vegan options!
Their rum selection is mindblowing! Easily over 100 different kinds of rum from all over the world.

Date of visit: January 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Venture32694932161
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1,569)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 1,569 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2024 via mobile

Very tasty Pisco Sour along with delicious salsa (pico de Gallo) and fried cauliflower. The tacos were all excellent and varied in flavors. Service was great as well.

Date of visit: February 2024
Thank BDtravelsnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 February 2024

We love it, great service and food. The cocktails were awesome we took our work family here for a treat.
Nienke ( Mike Pero Cashmere )

Date of visit: January 2024
Thank Getaway66332497226
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 February 2024

Everything was great, atmosphere, service and food. Would recommend, we will not hesitate to return and some point in the near future.

Date of visit: February 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tourist55943804956
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 February 2024 via mobile

Having just returned home from an enjoyable month in South America we were keen to return to this restaurant for a family birthday. Four of us there on a Tuesday night, after a busy day at work, we were open to suggestions so we decided on the “Trust the Chef” menu. The first course was two bowls of guacamole (slightly different flavors and one warm and one cold) with chips. Then the next course we were served bowls of salsa and ceviche with more chips. We were also served 4 small tacos (tofu, fish, chicken and beef) and two of us decided to try and cut two in half to try two different flavors but that wasn’t very successful as they were small and crumbly and tough to cut. For the main we were served two skewers (a sausage coil and chicken) with couscous, corn potatoes and salad but we didn’t eat all of that as appetites had been spoiled by too many dips and chips. Finally we were served 2 chocolate desserts, which were stodgy and unpleasant. We had food envy looking at the food that fellow diners were eating (especially the beef skewer) and afterwards we wished we had chosen the menu ourselves. We felt we were be given what there was a surplus of in the kitchen, and not what the chef was proud of. We wouldn’t have ordered 2 guacamole and wouldn’t have ordered so many starters. If you were serving us a taco each, why not ask us what flavor we would like and serve us on individual plates. And give us two different flavor desserts as not everyone likes chocolate (and, sorry, the vegan chocolate dish DID taste vegan!).

Date of visit: February 2024
Thank KarenF4110
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Casa Publica also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Casa Publica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.