We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try Everything!”
Review of Casa Publica

Casa Publica
Ranked #25 of 1,221 Restaurants in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $33
Description: Think back to a time when prohibition ruled over America. Dark times for some. For others, a time of opportunity and prosperity. One who seized the moment was Mr Hugo A Chile. Hugo was born 27 June, 1905. He was only 15 when the prohibition came into effect, about the time he was taking over his fathers mini-home distillery. Originally learning his craft to support the now fatherless family, Hugo created unthinkable profits by running rum to LA. Back then this journey would take 9 weeks each way, but after the third journey he was able to buy a lorry. After the fifth run he had his distribution network established. He never looked back. When you enter Casa Publica, you’re entering Hugo’s world. Come, sit and savour the taste, the obsessions, and the lifestyle of a man whose time begged the bending of rules, a little ruthlessness, a lot of rum, and an insatiable obsession for women’s shoes.
Restaurant details
Description: Think back to a time when prohibition ruled over America. Dark times for some. For others, a time of opportunity and prosperity. One who seized the moment was Mr Hugo A Chile. Hugo was born 27 June, 1905. He was only 15 when the prohibition came into effect, about the time he was taking over his fathers mini-home distillery. Originally learning his craft to support the now fatherless family, Hugo created unthinkable profits by running rum to LA. Back then this journey would take 9 weeks each way, but after the third journey he was able to buy a lorry. After the fifth run he had his distribution network established. He never looked back. When you enter Casa Publica, you’re entering Hugo’s world. Come, sit and savour the taste, the obsessions, and the lifestyle of a man whose time begged the bending of rules, a little ruthlessness, a lot of rum, and an insatiable obsession for women’s shoes.
Reviewed 24 August 2021

Visited for the weekend and went here Friday and Saturday night - 13th and 14th August!

Cocktails, Food, Live Music, Ambience, Location and most of all
Execellent Service ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
Hugo's Cocktails are a MUST! Especially enjoyed the cocktail recommendation by Allesandro. Guacamole made at the table definitely a highlight, fresh and delicious. Had a few of the tacos and small shared plates, all great tasting. Special mention to Theo, Olivier and Allessandro for your hospitality. I totally agree with the comment made by the lady at the front you all have great personality and that's what makes this place a MUST to visit.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank KeenTraveller2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1,566)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

417 - 421 of 1,566 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2021

Admosphere and music was amazing, staff very friendly and food was excellent!! Definitely hope to come back one day soon.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank Hellonewzealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 August 2021

Group of us went for a pre-show dinner.

First, the great: Our wait-staff were superb. Special mention for Oliver (hope we got the name right) - attentive, charming, and knowledgeable about the menu (answering many questions). He also has the memory of an elephant, remembering all nine orders and getting them perfectly right without taking a single note.

The good: Good flavour on the ribs, and the guacamole and chips are always tops. Friends enjoyed their tacos, and are keen to go back for more of those.

The oops: The ribs used to come pre-cut and stacked; they are now uncut and a friend and I found it difficult to pull them apart (we were sharing). It became a bit of a mess and I would only order these again if the kitchen pre-cuts them.

The not-so-good: The chicken fajitas were underwhelming. All agreed they should come out on a sizzling plate and need a flavour boost and maybe a re-imagining.

This restaurant has been a regular on our rotation since they opened and we'll be back, but this visit was a little disappointing.
Compare it with recent visits to other restaurants where every dish was perfect and it's hard to recommend this one over those if dining dollars are limited. Still, go for the guacamole and the cocktails!

Date of visit: August 2021
    • Value
    • Food
Thank beth2nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 August 2021 via mobile

We have visited many times and this spot never fails to impress be if for dinner or just drinks.

Staff are excellent.

They have a range of options from mains to snacks but all very fresh and inviting.

Latin music on Friday night when we visited.

Date of visit: August 2021
1  Thank PJC18
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 August 2021

Great restaurant, loved everything about it. Great food and drinks, lovely staff. Enjoyed the atmosphere. Will be back.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank Leela62
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Casa Publica also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Casa Publica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.