We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch food”
Review of Twenty Seven Steps

Twenty Seven Steps
Ranked #21 of 1,232 Restaurants in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed 27 September 2016

The most delicious food and attentive staff. Would definitely recommend. However, only complaint would be that it is very noisy - as it has high ceilings. It didnt bother us, but probably not the best for those a bit hard of hearing!

Date of visit: November 2015
Thank HollieS182
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1,232)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

927 - 931 of 1,232 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

On the recommendation of a local specialist food wholesaler............who said he had the best steak ever.......we visited Twenty Seven Steps with a visiting friend.
I am happy to agree that the steak is superb. Succulent, tender, full of flavour and cooked to perfection.
I highly recommend it.

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank DavidBrittain
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 September 2016

My wife and I had a special anniversary dinner at 27 Steps.The food was delicious and presentation first class.
The Manager and staff were exceptional and friendly.
The Manager even went out and purchased my wife`s favourite champagne before we arrived as it was not on their Wine List.
Going the extra mile impressed us.

Date of visit: September 2016
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 September 2016

Though very busy at the time we went, the staff and service was excellent. Fresh home made bread arrived soon after sitting down. This is free. If you want more there is a charge for the second order.

The menu including the daily specials was interesting. The soup could be ordered in a bowl or in a teacup. The teacup option was novel as well as a perfect quantity as a starter.

Being in a group meant a variety of dishes were ordered. Each and every one enjoyed what they had.

There is an extensive wine list including some wines by the glass.

Some of our group had been here before and said it was just as good on that visit.

Date of visit: September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank smithnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 September 2016 via mobile

What a lovely find. We really enjoyed the food and the service here. The seafood Bouillabaisse was the best I've ever tasted. Fabulous balance of flavours. I had the fish which was yum and my partner had the rack of lamb. The mains were substantial so much so I couldn't finish mine but it wasn't for lack of wanting to eat it I just was too full. We shared a dessert (always room for that) - the chia seed and rhubarb dessert. It was perfect. Not too sweet or heavy. Totally recommend this spot. We'll be back.

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank themacgirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Twenty Seven Steps also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Twenty Seven Steps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.