We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bustling hive of high energy!”
Review of Twenty Seven Steps

Twenty Seven Steps
Ranked #21 of 1,232 Restaurants in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

We have been to Twenty Seven Steps on more than one Occassion. We always feel like we get the best service and beautiful food. The ambience adds to the over all experience and is a reminder of the original cafe that was there "The Coffee Pot." Note to visitors booking is essential. This place is a lovely reminder of pre earthquake Christchurch even though it opened post event.

Date of visit: May 2016
2  Thank Vegetarianherione
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1,149)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

936 - 940 of 1,232 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

We were a walk in for Sunday evening as most other places were closed. It was a bit more upmarket that we needed but we liked the menu. It's a quiet and private restaurant with attentive professional service. We over ate as the starters were large but overall it was really good.

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank monethetripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 September 2016 via mobile

I reserved a pre theatre table for 2 at this lovely restaurant by leaving a voicemail. My call was promptly returned by a very pleasant staff member who seemed genuinely pleased , so refreshing to be made so welcome.
We arrived 10 minutes early, that was no bother either, and were seated by a charming French(?) girl, who explained the menu. I must say, the quality of service is professional but relaxed, nothing is a bother.
We enjoyed a glass of Rose and ordered our starters, seared scallops and a teacup of the most tasty Beetroot soup, yum.
We both chose the turbot, and were so pleased we did , the aroma from the plate was unbelievable . I enjoyed a glass of Greystone Pinot Gris with my main.
Dessert was affogato with Kahlua, and chocolate ganache with berries and ice cream and a long black. $189.00 for 3 courses and 2 wines and coffee each, and 2 hours in which to enjoy it.
Thank you so much, we will be back, and highly recommend.

Date of visit: August 2016
1  Thank heatherschmetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 September 2016

Four of us for dinner. A show around the corner (aimed at the ladies) meant the restaurant was busy and noisy. Settled down when the place emptied of the theatre goers.
Service was perfect. Young French lass was a classy act. Oysters to start, natural and kilpatrick very nice entree. Complimentary bread with ample cold butter before that was delicious. Scallops were not good, not fresh?, but very professionally they were removed from the account.
Sue had the blue cod special and announced winner on the night. Two of the lamb racks cooked to medium rare tender perfection. Pork announced ok.
This crew really have it down pat providing friendly professional service from front of house and an excellent kitchen team. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NZFoodie02
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 September 2016 via mobile

Faultless. Great service, friendly and food of high quality. Wonderful atmosphere, highly recommend it. Pricy, but in line with normal prices for high class, well patronised eateries.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank 479gregd
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Twenty Seven Steps also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Twenty Seven Steps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.