We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reputation well deserved”
Review of Twenty Seven Steps

Twenty Seven Steps
Ranked #22 of 1,225 Restaurants in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed 1 September 2016

Four of us for dinner. A show around the corner (aimed at the ladies) meant the restaurant was busy and noisy. Settled down when the place emptied of the theatre goers.
Service was perfect. Young French lass was a classy act. Oysters to start, natural and kilpatrick very nice entree. Complimentary bread with ample cold butter before that was delicious. Scallops were not good, not fresh?, but very professionally they were removed from the account.
Sue had the blue cod special and announced winner on the night. Two of the lamb racks cooked to medium rare tender perfection. Pork announced ok.
This crew really have it down pat providing friendly professional service from front of house and an excellent kitchen team. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NZFoodie02
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1,232)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

939 - 943 of 1,232 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2016 via mobile

Faultless. Great service, friendly and food of high quality. Wonderful atmosphere, highly recommend it. Pricy, but in line with normal prices for high class, well patronised eateries.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank 479gregd
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 August 2016

Best service, wonderful ambience, yummy food, highly recommend! In lovely New Regents street, awesome craft beer selection too.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank shanec876
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 August 2016 via mobile

My wife and I dined last night and came away absolutely delighted. We both ordered from the specials blackboard which were first class. Service was brisk and professional and the waiters wine knowledge complemented the overall experience. Small cosy room above three Art Deco shops which oozes atmosphere.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 August 2016

Lovely atmosphere. Food range good and service friendly. Lovely setting in this historic street. Upstairs window tables the best. Nice bar to sit at prior to going to your table.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank D660KTwilliamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Twenty Seven Steps also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Twenty Seven Steps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.