We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal of the trip”
Review of Twenty Seven Steps

Twenty Seven Steps
Ranked #21 of 1,232 Restaurants in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed 28 July 2016 via mobile

A must in Christchurch for everyone. Wonderful food and lovely service. Such a nice night out and a great piece of Christchurch on display.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Annabel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1,232)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

961 - 965 of 1,232 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

Right from walking in the door downstairs this restaurant has a welcoming feel.
Upon entering the quaint restaurant up the 26 steps you are welcomed and seated by a very experienced team. When reading the menu you know your meal will be an amazing experience.
It certainly didnt disappoint.
There were 6 of us dining for two family birthdays and all had something different.
Lamb was succulent the fish was moorish and the risotto was incredible.
Their desserts are certainly well worth keeping a gap for.... Decorated as if you are dining in a five star plus hotel...
Hats off to all staff of twenty sevensteps

Date of visit: March 2016
Thank 651delwynl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

Could not fault snything. Looking forward to going back again. The service was amazing and the food was lovely.

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank danorm18
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 July 2016

The restaurant is not large, situated up stairs of course in quaint New Regent St, Christchurch. It was a pleasant surprise to step into the restaurant and find it buzzing with people, on a Wednesday evening. The ambiance was inviting, it was like being in an exciting world, with the staff so friendly and welcoming, and we were shown to our table immediately (booking would be a must). The menu was not huge, but we felt it had plenty of choices. My aged steak had flavours to die for. I didn't want it to end. The risotto was perfectly cooked and the scallop entree with bacon was equally as tasty. We shared a dessert - creme brûlée and were not disappointed there either. I would say the noise levels were a little distracting, but it was a happy distraction! As we walked back to our car we all agreed it was worth another visit, even just to try out more of the menu. Excellent meal.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank paulineb658
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 July 2016

The food, to die for. The wine list, out of this world. The service, impeccable. Honestly the best food i had had in a long time, venison cooked to perfection, risotto that melts in your mouth and desserts that you can't say no to.
Would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone wanting a bit of fine dining and romantic atmosphere. Will definitely be back

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Georgia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Twenty Seven Steps also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Twenty Seven Steps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.