We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$109
Fully refundable before Fri, 26 Apr
No prepayment needed
Expedia.com
$109
Fully refundable before Sat, 27 Apr
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
Lol.travel
$105
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,502)
Filter reviews
3,502 results
Traveller rating
1,106
1,418
574
209
195
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,106
1,418
574
209
195
Show reviews that mention
All reviews small room short stay central location buffet breakfast comfy bed business trip one night stay great place to stay city
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
148 - 153 of 3,502 reviews
Reviewed 21 January 2021

An unfriendly welcome a non practical bathroom and a very noisy night
The welcome was so bad we decided to look for another restaurant rather using the one downstairs. The bathroom is made of glass and light pours in when you go in the night waking the kids and the Air circulation makes an awful lot of noise 24/7.
It was an horrible experience and we were exhausted the day after.

Date of stay: January 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AccorHotels.com
Thank mailofwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Aaron Winder, General Manager at BreakFree On Cashel Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2021

Kia ora maailofwill,

Thank you for your review on your recent stay at Breakfree on Cashel and taking the time to submit your survey and provide us with your comments. Please accept our apologies for the unfriendly welcome and the bad experience you had at the Hotel. We value feedback such as this as it allows us to fine tune our standards as we are constantly looking to improve the experience we offer to our guests.

Kind Regards

Aaron Winder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2021 via mobile

Staff were very welcoming as usual. Enjoyed my complimentary pint of beer.
Dinner was even nicer than my last visit (steak on mash).
Room was super clean and very quiet.
Checkout process was nice and quick too, plus car parking right next door.
What's not to like :)

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank thetedsternz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Aaron Winder, General Manager at BreakFree On Cashel Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2021

Kia ora thetedsternz,

Thank you for choosing BreakFree on Cashel for your accommodation during your visit to Christchurch. It is good to see you have enjoyed your stay and we appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your review.

Kind Regards

Aaron Winder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2021

Room is very tiny with no windows. Bed is not most comfortable. Parking problems. My room was not made on second day. But it is room in CBD with reasonable price. Price go high if person add parking cost and breakfast cost.

Date of stay: December 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AccorHotels.com
Thank bsidhu492668
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Aaron Winder, General Manager at BreakFree On Cashel Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2021

Kia ora bsidhu,

Thank you for choosing Breakfree on Cashel. We are sorry that the Hotel did not meet your expectations and we will definitely take your comments on board. The Inner rooms with no window are just some of the room types we have available at the Hotel with all City rooms featuring a window.

Kind Regards

Aaron Winder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2021

Breakfree is the only place we consider when staying in Christchurch, it is always clean, the service is great and the rooms clean and comfortable, the location is right in town and there is a restaurant onsite.

Date of stay: January 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AccorHotels.com
Thank mwatt361943
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Management response:Responded 15 January 2021

Kia ora mwatt361943,

Thank you for choosing BreakFree on Cashel for your accommodation during your visit to Christchurch and it is great to hear you have enjoyed your stay. We appreciate you taking the time to submit your review and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards

Aaron Winder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2021 via mobile

Rooms are snug but great value and clean. There's a breakfast available for $15 or coffee and baked goods. Parking is next door at $15 for 24 hours. We got a queen room with a window and I had a peak at the double windowless room which I wouldn't be keen on. I've stayed in hotels like this in Japan and because we basically only slept here I'm happy with my stay. My photo is our view.

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Allena D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Management response:Responded 12 January 2021

Kia ora Allena,

Thank you for choosing BreakFree on Cashel for your accommodation during your visit to Christchurch. It is good to see you have enjoyed your stay and we appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your review.

Kind Regards

Aaron Winder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews