We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Thai food in a friendly restaurant!”
Review of Thai Orchid

Thai Orchid
Reserve a table
OR
Get food delivered
Ranked #13 of 1,221 Restaurants in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 24 September 2023 via mobile

Excellent food, friendly and helpful staff, great atmosphere and live music. Highly recommend if you want great Thai food! We hadn’t booked but were able to get a table in what was a surprisingly busy restaurant for a Sunday night in rainy Christchurch. Friendly staff helped us choose a lovely set of dishes from a small but delicious looking menu. The drinks menu was also short but perfect to go with our meal. From our assorted entree to the masaman lamb shanks we really enjoyed our meal. Thank you to Jules and staff, we highly recommend Thai Orchid!

Date of visit: September 2023
1  Thank Rowan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (813)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

34 - 38 of 813 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2023 via mobile

A group of 8 of us went for dinner and what a great experience.
We were greeted on arrival by a young lady who escorted us to our tables, she was a gem - took our drink orders and gave us a few laughs, she took all our orders without writing anything down and got it 100% correct.
The food was fantastic, they catered for everyone’s needs and not one grumble from the group about the food.

If you want something a little different, I would personally recommend the Lamb Shank Massaman curry, we will be back.

Date of visit: September 2023
1  Thank CharlieandSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 September 2023

Although we haven't been to Thailand, we thoroughly enjoy Thai food and have had meals at almost all the Thai restaurants in Christchurch, over many years. As a choice for my birthday, we had a meal at Thai Orchid which would have to be the best evening out that we can remember.
The interior of the restaurant gives the impression that we were in Thailand - it has an excellent atmosphere and the glowing fire on a TV screen gives the impression that it is a real fire! We have never seen this anywhere else.
There is a most attractively presented menu with plenty of details, about each dish and the staff member was extremely helpful in assisting us with our choice of dishes.
We certainly weren't disappointed with our meals. They were extremely well presented and were very tasty. There was a generous amount in each dish that we ended taking a 'doggy bag' home in dishes that had separate compartments for the rice and the curry meals.
The beverage list was comprehensive with top quality wine at reasonable prices and the Thai beer was as good a beer as I have tasted.
The Manager was very friendly and shouted a complimentary drink for my birthday.
If you are looking for a place to dine in Christchurch we would recommend Thai Orchid - you won't be disappointed. It is no wonder that it has the reputation as the No 1 Thai restaurant in Christchurch. We will certainly be returning.

Date of visit: August 2023
1  Thank BobS99
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 August 2023 via mobile

The real deal thai experience in riccarton.
A group of 6 thoroughly enjoyed our Thai culinary experience. The staff were friendly and good sorts which added to the experience.
The courses we all chose were exemplary, and we are critical.
My green chicken curry was packed with flavors and vegetables.
Will certainly return

Date of visit: August 2023
1  Thank GregB3728
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 July 2023 via mobile

Busy restaurant with great flavour and well presented food. Can recommend the curry lamb shank and my friend loved her beef cheek. Fast friendly service from the staff.

Date of visit: July 2023
Thank Taratat
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Thai Orchid also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Thai Orchid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.