We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Ways to Experience 185 Empty White Chairs - Earthquake Memorial
from US$159.63
More Info
Reviews (1,833)
Filter reviews
1,833 results
Traveller rating
1,152
513
137
21
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,152
513
137
21
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews who lost their lives moving tribute cardboard cathedral poignant reminder high chair baby seat car seat ctv building brings home transitional cathedral victims installation earthquake loss capsule tragedy remembrance
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 1,833 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2020

I hope this memorial becomes permanent - even if it is moved to another site. We found it very moving.

Date of experience: October 2020
Thank JennyForbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2020 via mobile

Makes you realize how lucky we are in this very different world that we live in now, we are alive.
The chairs represented the peoe that died in the christchurch earthquake.

Date of experience: August 2020
Thank Jan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2020

Good place to visit. That is the place for reminding people die from the earthquake. Very sad but do worth to visit.

Date of experience: July 2020
Thank Pink14144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2020

This eye-catching public memorial invites you to stop and take a moment, and have a seat, if you like. I didn't know what it was when I first saw it from afar, but it made me want to come closer, and then it made sense when I read the description.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank klew97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2020 via mobile

Quite a somber experience.
Good to visit and remember. It brings home the devastation and allows one to remember the people who lost their lives on a normal day In Christchurch.
Clever and fitting artistic tribute.

Date of experience: July 2020
Thank Fivestar247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews