We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Looking

Interesting art piece. I hope they keep it somewhere more permanent place in the CBD. Will come... read more

Reviewed yesterday
sting1606
,
Christchurch, New Zealand
via mobile
Sad to see

This actually brought a tear to my eyes knowing why the chairs were there. A stark reminder of the... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
275DianneB
,
Gold Coast
Read all 1,597 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Christchurch
from US$19.60
More Info
from US$60.30
More Info
from US$19.60
More Info
from US$41.40
More Info
Reviews (1,597)
Filter reviews
1,597 results
Traveller rating
1,020
435
117
17
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,020
435
117
17
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews who lost their lives moving tribute cardboard cathedral poignant reminder high chair baby car seat beautiful tribute ctv building brings home transitional cathedral visiting christchurch city centre victims installation loss earthquake capsule
Filter
Updating list...
76 - 81 of 1,597 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2018

I visited this site a couple of times but I drive past this special monument every day on my way to work so I think about the 185 people who sadly lost their lives on that devastating day in Christchurch, a peaceful place to visit

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank RaewynE5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018 via mobile

A solemn reminder of the sadness experienced by Christchurch. Also a wonderful way to remember those lost. Worth the visit - especially if you are really looking to see the impact and rebuilding of Christchurch.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank TravelMum84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2018 via mobile

We’ve visited the site where the twin towers stood & noted the airiness of it all but the empty white chairs had more of an emotional effect than my partner & I expected. Not sure it’s because we live in NZ & it’s close so close to home as we’ve seen the devastation on tv & papers of the earth quakes or that the remembrance is just so brutally honest. It was a must see after visiting the cardboard cathedral.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank natashag254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2018 via mobile

The idea is nice but when we found the site it was a bit of a let down to be honest. It is only a small site, well maintained but no information explaining it at all. Could be done a bit better.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank tanyal304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2018 via mobile

A very tacky disappointing display, considering so many of the victims families didn’t want a chair for their loved one who passed away. There must be better ways to remember them

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank barefootlouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews