We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WE RETURNED BACK TO MAHARAJA INDIAN RESTAURANT AND WHAT A GOOD MEAL - THIS TIME WE RATED THE EXPERIENCE AT 4.5*'S”

Maharaja Indian Restaurant
Ranked #60 of 1,219 Restaurants in Christchurch
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 20 September 2019

Our last experience at Maharaja a few months back left some room for improvement especially in the service area.
As I said in that review, Maharaja is usually our favourite Indian Restaurant here in Christchurch. But, because we really like it there, we were always going to return.

So, having set the background, this Maharaja visit was right back up to their usual high standards and Customer experience.
For the three of us, we ordered the Mixed entrée $18.50 option plus two of us had the Chicken Tikka Masala “mild to medium” and I ordered a Butter chicken Tikka Marsala - all three were very good indeed.
We took full advantage of the excellent wine glasses on offer which did full justice to our B.Y.O. wines - a Greystone Barrell fermented Sauvy and a Glasnevin Single Vineyard Gewurztraminer from the 2011 vintage and both these Waipara wines did full justice to our meals.
The Atmosphere at Maharaja is well above average and provides several dining areas in what must have been a majestic home in years gone by.
The layout allows for some privacy and reduces the noise levels. Much appreciated.
The two staff looking after us provided very good service and we appreciated their good work and attention.

We will be back again soon to further explore the options that the comprehensive Menu provides.
If you enjoy Indian Food, then the Maharaja is worth a try for a good night, either for a casual night out or for a more special occasion.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank djmcc50177
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (354)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 57 of 354 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2019

Our regular visit to Maharaja always brings satisfaction. Awesome atmoshphere and staffs are very friendly. Food is wonderful! Try here next time you plan to dine in for Indian curry.

Date of visit: July 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Windowart
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 July 2019 via mobile

This Indian restaurant is situated in an old wooden villa on Papanui Road. There was a warm welcome on a cold night and the staff were friendly and helpful. The menu is quite extensive but we kept it simple with samosas and a couple of curries. The food was tasty and reasonably priced.

Date of visit: July 2019
2  Thank Leisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 June 2019

We booked a table for 3 for dinner that evening so not much notice to the team.

We ordered a Tandoori platter to share for our entree, followed by a Mango Chicken, Prawn Maharaja and a Dhal Chah, accompanied by a Naan Platter. Wow! Delicious! Fantastic chef and delightful attentive service. Though we were quite full we couldn’t resist the deserts. We had a Pistachio Kulfi and a Gulab Jamun to share. So glad we did! They were both super yummy to finish a great meal.

This was our first visit, but definitely not our last! Until next time.

Date of visit: June 2019
2  Thank Swisskiwigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 June 2019 via mobile

6 of us went and shared a banquet. The food and service was fantastic. Possibly the best Indian ever. Can’t wait till we are back again

Date of visit: June 2019
2  Thank Paradise499842
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Maharaja Indian Restaurant also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Maharaja Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.