We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could not have been bettered elsewhere”

Curator's House Restaurant
Ranked #47 of 1,221 Restaurants in Christchurch
Price range: $15 - $42
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: SPANISH TAPAS - LAMB - PAELLA and more... in a heritage building in the Botanic Gardens. Drop in for casual tapas in the sun in summer, or beside the fireplace in winter. Or a special occasion or group function in one of our intimate dining rooms. Beautiful garden views. Stroll through our demonstration fruit and vege garden. All right in the heart of the Botanic Gardens in central Christchurch. Simply too special to miss. Open 7 days for lunch, dinner and tapas.
Reviewed 31 July 2023

Having been several times before I needed a suitable place to celebrate a surprise anniversary dinner.

I booked well in advance and then called in to discuss my requirements, Yin was on hand and all I can say is she did evrything I asked and more. Despite my obvious apprehension as to how the surprise would go I need not have worried.

Everything went to plan and the meal was fantastic as were the wines. The tapas for starters with bread was just enough and the mains of Ribeye (each one cooked as requested), Pork Belly and Lamb shoulder were top notch, all delivered together at our fabulous table by the fire. Deserts were equally delicious (they even wrote Happy Anniversary on the desert plate) so all in all a fantastic night that could not have been bettered elsewhere.

Date of visit: July 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Andyroogolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (627)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

14 - 18 of 627 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2023 via mobile

This lovely old house houses a Spanish restaurant. We had a set menu as a reasonably large group. Also able to use a private room upstairs. The tapas to start with were good with a nice selection as well as GF options. Nice steaks, fish etc for mains. Really enjoyed the champagne sangria as a slightly different option as well.

Date of visit: April 2023
Thank Megan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 April 2023

After coming from the hustle and bustle of our cruise ship, this was a delightfully relaxing setting for our lunch. Its old-world charm and decor, along with picturesque views rounded off the experience.
For our meal we chose to share the ‘Tapas Tasting Selection’ and the ‘Toasted Sourdough’; paired with the ‘Main Divide Riesling’.
We thoroughly enjoyed our meal and the wine, (glad we opted for a bottle).
Great customer service and very friendly staff. Highly recommended.
Lovely surroundings with the Botanic Gardens and Avon River close by.
Thanks for making our visit to Christchurch such a memorable occasion.
Ian & Linda W. Coffs Harbour, Australia

Date of visit: April 2023
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 April 2023

The service isnt great in that the staff seem to be trying, just not that helpful or efficient. Food was average which was a bit disappointing having eaten here before and had much nicer food on that occasion.

Date of visit: March 2023
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SDRJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 March 2023

My wife and I had such a wonderful time here for lunch before wondering through the city centre. The location is perfect and feels like you've escaped the busy city—but it's only a short walk to the shops still.

The food is always delicious. This time around we didn't need a big meal each so we just ordered the tapas tasting selection. It had the perfect variety and portions.

It was actually hard leave. We just wanted stay sitting in the court yard, under the sun, ordering sangrias and snacking on tapas.

Was the perfect way to spend some time in the city.

Date of visit: March 2023
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Cam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Curator's House Restaurant also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Curator's House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.