We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you are visiting Christchurch this is a must”

Christchurch Tramway Restaurant
Ranked #18 of 1,220 Restaurants in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $135 - $135
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Enjoy dinner in style on board our beautifully-restored heritage tramcar. A unique dining experience combining premium New Zealand cuisine and beverages with slow-paced travel showcasing Christchurch's rebuilding and vibrant inner city - this is not to be missed!
Reviewed 21 April 2021

If you are looking for a special dinner when visiting Christchurch this is a must. 2.5hrs on the tram enjoying an amazing 4 course meal. Do the wine match its so worth it.
Staff and service excellent

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CHCHAttractions, Manager at Christchurch Tramway Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2021

We're pleased to hear you enjoyed the service and wine pairing on the Tramway Restaurant. Thank you for recommending us as a must-do experience for a special dinner, and for sharing your photo of our 1920s tramcar.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (792)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

84 - 88 of 792 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2021 via mobile

The tram itself is about 100 years old and has been adapted for modern dining experiences.
The waiter was easy to talk to and had a great understanding of the meals.
The food itself was good. I went with the pate, Venison and cheese for dessert. The matched wines made a great addition to the meal.
Highly recommend

Date of visit: February 2021
Thank BrendenM65
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CHCHAttractions, Manager at Christchurch Tramway Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2021

Thank you for recommending the Tramway Restaurant experience. We're glad to hear you enjoyed your choices from our autumn menu as well as our accompanying wine pairings. Thank you for choosing to dine with us and for taking the time to share your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2021

Me and my wify just loved the style and vibe of the place. If you are up to something different and unique- choose tramway. Awesome service, great food and fun atmosphere, we going to come back soon to try new desserts.

Date of visit: February 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CraigMcnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CHCHAttractions, Manager at Christchurch Tramway Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2021

We're pleased you and your wife enjoyed your evening on board the Tramway Restaurant! Our menu changes seasonally (including our bespoke desserts from local patisserie Sweet Soul) so we hope to see you on board again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2021 via mobile

We couldn't book the Friday as no spaces left. Went in on Friday am and got a cancelation. We have a few dietary restrictions and the service we received was faultless. They couldn't have been more understanding and accommodating
. This is service!! It can be done with a smile. They went the extra mile to make sure we were happy. We weren't the only ones ..several people had restrictions and they offered very reasonable alternatives. Full marks to the company, the chef, and the crew. 3 course meal and 2 and 1/2 hrs on the team going round. Meal was all freshly cooked on board and plenty and great wines..10 🌟 ⭐ Thank you for such an enjoyable evening

Date of visit: February 2021
Thank 666rosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CHCHAttractions, Manager at Christchurch Tramway Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2021

Thank you for such a lovely review. We're pleased you were able to book on board due to a cancellation (Fridays and Saturdays are our busiest evenings and tend to book up well in advance). We will pass on your kind comments to our team: we take dietary requirements very seriously and do whatever we can to accommodate these, so we're glad to hear you were happy with the options we could provide. Thank you for sharing your photos, and we hope to see you again if you are visiting Christchurch in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2021

What a fabulous way to dine, takes you to a bygone era of fine service and fine food. The waiters and chefs were all young guys who did an outstanding job. We had such fun, loads of laughter with fellow diners and the food was delicious. Highly recommended for special occasions

Date of visit: February 2021
Thank PatAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CHCHAttractions, Manager at Christchurch Tramway Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2021

We're happy to hear you enjoyed your evening on the Tramway Restaurant: our team are always pleased to see various tables chatting together on board as it makes for a great atmosphere for all. Thank you for recommending us and for taking the time to share your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Christchurch Tramway Restaurant also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Christchurch Tramway Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.