We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely evening ”
Review of 50 Bistro

50 Bistro
Ranked #80 of 1,184 Restaurants in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$40
Cuisines: Contemporary, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Relaxed dining with inspired bistro fare 50 Bistro offers inspired bistro food with modern flavours, excellent wines and a great bar. The menu offers a large variety of dishes featuring classic’s twisted with our own 50 flair. Executive Chef, Darren Conole, leads the kitchen team designing seasonal menus using the best local produce. The stylish interior flows out to a generous outdoor area, complete with fire tables that reflect the warm hues of the orange onyx wall inside, making 50 Bistro the perfect place to meet any time of the day for coffee, cocktails and bar snacks or a meal. With windows overlooking Hagley Park, breakfast in 50 Bistro is the ideal spot to start any day. Lunchtime brings with it a buzzy vibe offering great versatility and value with a selection of light meals and salads in addition to entrées and grills and desserts. Evenings bring heartier comfort dishes and a warm ambience, perfect for relaxing with friends.
Reviewed 12 April 2018 via mobile

Beautiful bread and dips to start, excellent steak cooked to perfection and delicious desert to finish. All washed down with a lovely bottle of pinot gris. All recommended by the lovely staff. Thank you Sarah and Trish for a great evening, can't wait to return and would definitely recommend.

Thank JohnMen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (203)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 203 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2018

We ate here several times. The service was excellent and the food very enjoyable. The cocktails were very good as well.

Thank Mpollifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2018

What a lovely spot to enjoy a special lunch. Nice and quite no over powering music blasting and coffee machine is very quiet. The menu had just changed to autumn choices and was just a treat. 3 of us had the scallops with pea raviolli and 1 had the curry tuna salad, this had tempura fried anchovies on it which were to die for. I could have had a plate of them on their own!. Followed on by duck,pork,risotto and prawns all well received and enjoyed. 2 panacottas with cocount were just the best , the Lemon curd not so pleasing. The initial service person was just wonderful not over the top and very helpful. Another person did attend us and was a little bit too helpful. I would love to go back and try the dinner menu . And as we ate we saw high teas comming out so may have to return for one of those too as they just looked divine too. Overall a really lovely meal, fine dining at its best, keep it up.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Grandmaof6kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at 50 Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2018

Dear Grandmaof6kids
Thank you for your kind words following your recent birthday lunch in 50 Bistro. We are delighted to hear your appreciation of the dishes your selected from our new autumn menu. It is also pleasing to hear you enjoyed the overall atmosphere in the restaurant. We do hope you will return in the future, either for lunch, dinner or perhaps to experience our high tea. Thank you again for taking the time to post your review.
Kind regards

Bruce Garrett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2018

Our daughters Parents in Law shouted us a meal at 50 Bistro, they have been before. They told us it was a lovely place to dine and fantastic food. Which it was, lovely atmosphere, comfy seats, real cotton serviettes, friendly and helpful staff. We were not disappointed. The drinks were enjoyed as well.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Delightful2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at 50 Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2018

Dear Delightful2014
We are thrilled to hear you were not disappointed with the choice of 50 Bistro for your recent night out with friends and that the overall experience, from the ambience of the restaurant to the service you received from our team, was so enjoyable. Thank you for taking the time to post your review.
Kind regards

Bruce Garrett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018

Knowledgeable service staff and a very good kitchen. Pretty good wine list. I loved the tapenade and sun dried tomatoes spread. Amazing! The lamb and scallops were cooked just right.

Thank Virginia Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at 50 Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2018

Dear Virginia Y
We are delighted your recent dining experience in 50 Bistro was such a pleasant one and that the dishes you chose were so enjoyable. We hope we might welcome you back on a future occasion and thank you for taking the time to post your review.
Kind regards

Bruce Garrett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 50 Bistro also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to 50 Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing