We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Country Garden & Beautiful Home Stay”
Review of Maples on Harewood

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Maples on Harewood
Ranked #17 of 141 Christchurch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 February 2016

Warm welcome from the hosts and Mollie (the dog). Spacious exceptionally clean rooms with every need provided for - home baking and all the breakfast requirements ensured the stay was exceptional. Being so close to the airport was a bonus. Highly recommend this beautiful home. Frances G.

Room Tip: Lovely clean spacious living room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank FranOhope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L7376GRsue, Owner at Maples on Harewood, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2016

Thank you. It was a pleasure having you stay with us. Always great to meet another rugby fan!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2016

This spot has the “WOW FACTOR”. If you are travelling to New Zealand, flying in or out of Christchurch this should be your first and last stay. If you want to experience New Zealand Hospitality at its best, well Sue and Greg optimize New Zealand’s Southern hospitality!! It does not get better than staying at “Maples On Harewood”. From the moment you walk through the front door there is a warm welcome waiting from either Sue, Greg or the delightful Molly (their spoodle) then through to the fabulous garden where there are several spots that you can relax, either in company with other guests or in seclusion to enjoy the ambience of the place. We booked into the Pool Room – an absolute must, especially if you have just got off a long flight or are about to embark on one – treat yourself to this spacious comfortable accommodation, ranch sliders leading from the kitchen/lounge/dining area out to the pool or garden, just minutes from the Airport, Antarctic Experience, shops and fabulous Malls. If you are a New Zealander looking to stay in Christchurch, look no further, this is the spot, you feel like you are in the country but easy access to all that Christchurch has to offer. A Big Thank you for making our stay so fantastic and welcoming our wee dog Purdey (a Bijedoodle!) Barney is having withdrawal symptoms from the delicious egg and bacon slice and I from the yummy freshly stewed plumbs – Oh did I mention the very substantial continental breakfast to start your day. Yes we robbed the cookie/muffin and sweetie jar before we left – kept us on a real sugar high for our trip home to Picton. Thank you again – you are amazing!!!

Room Tip: Highly recommend the Pool Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L7376GRsue, Owner at Maples on Harewood, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2016

Hi. Thank you for your lovely review and sharing the beautiful photo of your son's wedding. What a time you had!
We hope we get a chance to meet you and Purdie again.
Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2016

We have just spent our last night in New Zealand at Maples and it was the perfect place to stay after traveling around the two islands for the last two weeks.Sue and Greg were the perfect hosts and we were made to feel like one of the family.They were warm and friendly and nothing seemed to much for them.The rooms were beautifully clean and very comfortable.It is also close to the city and airport.Our only regret was that we could only stay one night.After spending almost 7 weeks in New Zealand five weeks in Auckland with our son,this was really the Perfect Place.Thanks from Sue and Steve Hambleton Lancashire England

Room Tip: All good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L7376GRsue, Owner at Maples on Harewood, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2016

Hi. Thanks for choosing to stay with us. We are glad you had fun and enjoyed your stay. It ended up being a very sociable night for you! Come back again when you next visit your son!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2015

We stayed our first night on the South Island at Sue, Greg and Mollie. Our hosts welcomed us very warmly and we felt as part of their own family. The sleeping room were equipped homelike and comfortable. The breakfast in the morning was very tasty and we were sad to leave after staying here for only one day. The breakfast pie was delicious. I haven't forgot to ask for the recipe...



PS: Who is Mollie? Those who like dogs will love Mollie...

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 957AS_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L7376GRsue, Owner at Maples on Harewood, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2016

Hi.
Thanks for your lovely review. As for the recipe, nothing fancy. Bacon and egg pie. Pastry filled wth egg bacon, a little milk and peas! Glad you enjoyed it!! We hope you come again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2015

From arriving to leaving "maples on harewood" leaves you wanting more. As a family of four with a very exited/active 6 year old and a mischievous 20 month old this little place has it all. The accomodation was fabulous, every detail was taken into consideration from the pool to the trampoline to the shed full of delights for little ones to the adult spa and seating area. The continental breakfast was fabulous and was more than expected but very much appreciated when you have hungry little ones and your away from home. Being just a short drive from christchurch airport it was an ideal location as it felt like you were in the middle of no where being right beside a vineyard but also close enough for a very short drive to the city centre. The hosts are two of the nicest people I have met and make you feel like your not away from home at all. We would highly recommend staying here and we will definitely be back in the future.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephyj15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L7376GRsue, Owner at Maples on Harewood, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2015

Thanks for your lovely review. We loved having your family stay with us and hope that you will come again. Your children are beautiful and so well behaved.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
2.5 km away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
2.2 km away
Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
0.6 km away
St James Bed & Breakfast
St James Bed & Breakfast
#11 of 141 in Christchurch
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
Lilac Rose Boutique Bed and Breakfast
10 km away
Designer Cottage
Designer Cottage
#3 of 141 in Christchurch
284 reviews
7.3 km away
Eliza's Manor Boutique Hotel
Eliza's Manor Boutique Hotel
#1 of 141 in Christchurch
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maples on Harewood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maples on Harewood

Address: 55 Watsons Road | Harewood, Christchurch 8051, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in Christchurch
Price Range: $173 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maples on Harewood 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two wonderful options for your stay. A beautiful purpose built bed and breakfast unit set in a picturesque garden on the outskirts of Christchurch. This unit has a separate bedroom, bathroom and living, kitchen area. There is an additional double bed in the living room for extra guests. As an alternative there is an attached wing to the main house that includes two bedrooms, Queen and King beds and separate living area and bathroom. Close to Christchurch International Airport yet only 10 minutes from the city centre, the location is perfect. Welcoming, friendly hosts who look forward to sharing their beautiful home with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Maples on Harewood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing