We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Pavilions Hotel(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$137
US$125
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Ibis Christchurch(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
Heritage Christchurch(Christchurch)
US$173
US$147
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$130
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
US$108
US$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$132
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Airport Palms Motel(Christchurch)
US$105
US$98
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$106
US$84
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$260
US$217
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$244/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (50)
Filter reviews
50 results
Traveller rating
44
6
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
44
6
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool roomhosts sueminutes from the airportpool and tennis courtinstant noodlesfive weeksclose to the airportnew zealandlong flightperfect hostslarge roomhire carharwoodgablespropertycityrugby
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 50 reviews
Reviewed 23 January 2016

This spot has the “WOW FACTOR”. If you are travelling to New Zealand, flying in or out of Christchurch this should be your first and last stay. If you want to experience New Zealand Hospitality at its best, well Sue and Greg optimize New Zealand’s Southern hospitality!! It does not get better than staying at “Maples On Harewood”. From the moment you walk through the front door there is a warm welcome waiting from either Sue, Greg or the delightful Molly (their spoodle) then through to the fabulous garden where there are several spots that you can relax, either in company with other guests or in seclusion to enjoy the ambience of the place. We booked into the Pool Room – an absolute must, especially if you have just got off a long flight or are about to embark on one – treat yourself to this spacious comfortable accommodation, ranch sliders leading from the kitchen/lounge/dining area out to the pool or garden, just minutes from the Airport, Antarctic Experience, shops and fabulous Malls. If you are a New Zealander looking to stay in Christchurch, look no further, this is the spot, you feel like you are in the country but easy access to all that Christchurch has to offer. A Big Thank you for making our stay so fantastic and welcoming our wee dog Purdey (a Bijedoodle!) Barney is having withdrawal symptoms from the delicious egg and bacon slice and I from the yummy freshly stewed plumbs – Oh did I mention the very substantial continental breakfast to start your day. Yes we robbed the cookie/muffin and sweetie jar before we left – kept us on a real sugar high for our trip home to Picton. Thank you again – you are amazing!!!

Room Tip: Highly recommend the Pool Room
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L7376GRsue, Owner at Maples on Harewood, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2016

Hi. Thank you for your lovely review and sharing the beautiful photo of your son's wedding. What a time you had!
We hope we get a chance to meet you and Purdie again.
Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2016

We have just spent our last night in New Zealand at Maples and it was the perfect place to stay after traveling around the two islands for the last two weeks.Sue and Greg were the perfect hosts and we were made to feel like one of the family.They were warm and friendly and nothing seemed to much for them.The rooms were beautifully clean and very comfortable.It is also close to the city and airport.Our only regret was that we could only stay one night.After spending almost 7 weeks in New Zealand five weeks in Auckland with our son,this was really the Perfect Place.Thanks from Sue and Steve Hambleton Lancashire England

Room Tip: All good rooms
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L7376GRsue, Owner at Maples on Harewood, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2016

Hi. Thanks for choosing to stay with us. We are glad you had fun and enjoyed your stay. It ended up being a very sociable night for you! Come back again when you next visit your son!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2015

We stayed our first night on the South Island at Sue, Greg and Mollie. Our hosts welcomed us very warmly and we felt as part of their own family. The sleeping room were equipped homelike and comfortable. The breakfast in the morning was very tasty and we were sad to leave after staying here for only one day. The breakfast pie was delicious. I haven't forgot to ask for the recipe...



PS: Who is Mollie? Those who like dogs will love Mollie...

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 957AS_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L7376GRsue, Owner at Maples on Harewood, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2016

Hi.
Thanks for your lovely review. As for the recipe, nothing fancy. Bacon and egg pie. Pastry filled wth egg bacon, a little milk and peas! Glad you enjoyed it!! We hope you come again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2015

From arriving to leaving "maples on harewood" leaves you wanting more. As a family of four with a very exited/active 6 year old and a mischievous 20 month old this little place has it all. The accomodation was fabulous, every detail was taken into consideration from the pool to the trampoline to the shed full of delights for little ones to the adult spa and seating area. The continental breakfast was fabulous and was more than expected but very much appreciated when you have hungry little ones and your away from home. Being just a short drive from christchurch airport it was an ideal location as it felt like you were in the middle of no where being right beside a vineyard but also close enough for a very short drive to the city centre. The hosts are two of the nicest people I have met and make you feel like your not away from home at all. We would highly recommend staying here and we will definitely be back in the future.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephyj15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L7376GRsue, Owner at Maples on Harewood, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2015

Thanks for your lovely review. We loved having your family stay with us and hope that you will come again. Your children are beautiful and so well behaved.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2015

It was fantastic ! Sue and Greg are extremely available, kind and helpful. Their welcome was warm, sincere and with a lot of attentions for all my family. They take care of us as they knew us from years and we feel ourself like at home ! They give us great advices about activities in Christchurch and we finally can see kiwis by their efforts ! The bacon and eggs with green pea of Sue deserve to be in a menu of a gastronomic restaurant. All the B&B is very clean and useful but their are several extras that enjoy adults and kids : trampoline, swimming pool, table football, tennis court, fitness room and the top of the top, the music in the bathroom ! Our stay was very too short but we loved to talk with Sue and Greg about culture, history, people, civilisations and of course rugby ! If you like rugby, this B&B is the place to stay in Aotearoa. We come back for sure to stay in this B&B and especially to see and spend time with Greg and Sue. Thank you to them to embellish the end of our wonderful trip.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank PipoTassin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L7376GRsue, Owner at Maples on Harewood, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2015

Gosh, sorry I just looked and saw I hadn't responded to your lovely review on Trip Advisor. We enjoyed talking with you too and meeting your lovely family. We do hope you will come back to Aotearoa and spend time with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews