We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spectacular Flight over Christchurch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Canterbury Aero Club

Canterbury Aero Club
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located on the Canterbury Plains halfway down New Zealand's South Island, the Canterbury Aero Club provides world class, professional flights in some of the worlds most stunning terrain. Canterbury Aero Club has a wide range of scenic flights which offer the perfect way to experience Christchurch, Canterbury and New Zealand from the air.
Useful Information: Stairs / lift, Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase, Lockers / storage, Bathroom facilities
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
99 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Spectacular Flight over Christchurch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2015

What an awesome experience, sight seeing over the City, out towards the Pier and across to Lyttleton and Quail Island and back to Harewood. Our Pilot for the day was Richard and he was excellent. Would definitely recommend, only problem is time goes past too fast. Amazing views of Christchurch and Richard lets you know all through the plane trip different places of interest. A must to do.

Visited May 2015
Helpful?
Thank Lynne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
98 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Just Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2015

We took a 30 minute scenic flight over Christchurch. It was great to see the city at this stage of the rebuild. The mix of empty blocks and new buildings in the CBD is a stark reminder of what happened here. The pilot was very knowledgeable and made the whole experience very enjoyable. In addition it was fascinating experience listening to information from the control tower during take-off and to get a new view of the airport. The flight circled the CBD and then travelled east to the cost before flying over the Port Hills and Lyttelton. I would recommend this flight experience, but it is probably best suited to people who already know Christchurch and its landmarks.

Visited December 2014
Helpful?
Thank Louise K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great views of Christchurch.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2014

The best $140 spent during our stay in NZ. Great ariel views of Christchurch by very knowledgeable pilot, worth every cent.

Visited November 2014
Helpful?
Thank tudor d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
“Phenomenal Aerobatics Flight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2014

Girlfriend gave me the best birthday gift ever in the form of an aerobatic training flight with Simon. Was without question the most outstanding flying experience I have had the pleasure of enjoying. Simon was great and after talking me through a few manoeuvres with me on the stick, proceeded to demonstrate some of the sorts of things you would expect to see at an airshow. Couldn't get the smile off my face!

Visited October 2014
Helpful?
Thank LodgeLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“These guys are awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2014

For anyone interested in aviation or simply wanting a great flight over the city. These guys are a must. Everyone needs to do an intro flight, who knows... you might just end up making a few visits and doing your first solo. Very professional and yet relaxed and friendly at the same time.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank khaos22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Canterbury Aero Club also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Canterbury Aero Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing