We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A comfortable hotel in a great location”
Review of Hotel Montreal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Montreal
Ranked #15 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A comfortable hotel in a great location”
Reviewed 13 February 2017

We had a junior suite on the 3rd floor with masses of room, although the bedroom itself was on the small side. But everything was spotlessly clean and well-equipped.

Breakfast on the first morning was a bit of a disaster, as there weren't enough staff to cope with the cooked breakfast orders, so people were waiting for ages and then had to eat fast to catch the tour we were going on. The quality of the food was very good although it did take ages to get a cup of coffee and the choice of food was pretty limited. Also we couldn't get a drink in the Bar at around 10pm, which seemed strange for a hotel of this calibre.

It was a great location though, just across from the park and various restaurants.

Room Tip: Rooms higher up are probably quieter and have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kfrancis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMontreal363, Manager at Hotel Montreal, responded to this review, 7 March 2017
Dear Kfrancis

We are very pleased you enjoyed the comfort of your room and its amenities, along with the convenience of our location. We are sorry however to hear you experienced some issues, both with your dining experience at breakfast and again in the bar later in the evening. We do apologise for the inconvenience this caused you at the time and we can assure you we have since held discussions with out team to address the concerns you have highlighted.

Kind regards
Bianca McAuley
Assistant manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    35
    13
    4
    3
See reviews for
41
74
6
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
Reviewed 9 February 2017

We had a wonderful experience at the Montreal. The staff was very friendly and helpful regarding our needs and tour booking. I would definitely recommend it if you ever find yourself traveling in Christchurch.

  • Stayed July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank andrianc2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMontreal363, Manager at Hotel Montreal, responded to this review, 8 March 2017
Dear andrianc2017

We are so pleased to hear about the wonderful experience you had whilst staying with us, especially from our reception team. We would like to thank you for recommending us and hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Bianca McAuley
Assistant manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2017

Christchurch vacation stay
Our stay was very nice. The hotel is in a great walking location. The park is a short walk and several nice restaurants are nearby. The room was wonderful. The staff was friendly and helpful. Would come back to this hotel if the opportunity arises

  • Stayed January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank mex-azona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelMontreal363, Manager at Hotel Montreal, responded to this review, 8 March 2017
Dear mex-azone

Thank you for your lovely review. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you especially appreciated the friendly, helpful service from all our team and the comfort of our wonderful rooms with the added convenience of our location to all nearby attractions. We hope to have another opportunity to have you stay with us in the near future.

Kind regards
Bianca McAuley
Assistant manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2017 via mobile

Stayed three days here in a junior suite. Room was great and the service excellent. Receptionist was really nice and the lady who showed us our room was very friendly and could not not do enough for us. Breakfast was superb and Leo the guy who looked after the breakfast area was brilliant! Nothing too much trouble and very attentive. Night time turn down service with lovely chocolates and free water, a lovely touch! I can fault nothing with this hotel! They even give you a complimentary drink voucher when you arrive!
Did not try the restaurant on the evenings as we had already planned to eat in two local places but we did try the bar and observed the food coming out of the kitchen and it looked really nice and plentiful!
Such a friendly hotel I would highly recommend it to anyone!
Thank you guys

Stayed January 2017, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MikeJ2497
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for a couple of nights in late January.

It's rightly described as a boutique hotel with a cool, Polo influenced decor and is clean, comfortable, relaxed, with good wi-fi and good food.

Our room (108) was a good size with plenty of space for lounging and good storage space. The bathroom was modern with two basins and a power shower. The windows could have done with a wash.

The restaurant serves good food with a slight Spanish influence - tapas size dishes, along with empanadas, patatas bravas & churros. Great breakfasts too, so clearly have a great team in the kitchen.

There's a smart terrace for relaxing sunset drinks.

Staff are welcoming, accommodating and attentive.

Close to the centre of town.

Worthy of your consideration if planning on stopping in Christchurch for a couple of days.

Stayed January 2017, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Graham M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.2 km away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,284 reviews
0.8 km away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
0.7 km away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#14 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,705 reviews
1.2 km away
Rydges Latimer Christchurch Hotel
1.5 km away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montreal

Property: Hotel Montreal
Address: 363 Montreal Street, Christchurch 8013, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Price range (per night): $346 - $536
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Montreal 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly positioned in the heart of Christchurch, the striking Hotel Montreal is a thoughtfully orchestrated blend of design, art, food and wine in a remarkable boutique setting. Hotel Montreal is unique in design and beautifully finished with decadent furnishings and the latest in-room technology. The property provides 26 spacious hotel suites each with their own private balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing