We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
Trip.com
StayForLong
Expedia.com
Orbitz.com
View all 14 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (61)
Filter reviews
61 results
Traveller rating
27
23
7
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
27
23
7
4
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 61 reviews
Reviewed 8 March 2019

We stayed twice at Northcote, and both times it was fab. Donna and Gary could not have been more helpful and friendly, nothing was too much trouble for them. I will definitely stay there again when we travel to NZ from the UK. Thanks guys.

Room tip: I did not chose our room, Donna and Gary did both times, not disappointed
Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sophieboe2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 February 2019 via mobile

This motel is located on the Main North Road as you come in from Kaikoura next to a Caltech station and close to a cafe with very good coffee plus a pub with OK food. It is also handy to Papanui with its mall, cinema and restsurants. It has a new two storey block and older concrete block units. We were in one of these and found it clean and well equipped but obviously due for an update. The owners were extremely helpful and

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank stevew538
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 February 2019 via mobile

Really nice hosts, clean and comfortable rooms, and good value. Easy trip into town but recommend a car to get around. Could probably skip breakfast unless you’re a really slow starter who can’t leave the room without toast.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank jonathanhZ1090AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 January 2019 via mobile

We stayed here 3 nights & highly recommend it. Very clean rooms. Donna was very helpful & understanding - this was not a holiday but a sad trip. We had ‘family unit’.
The outside seating at front & back was very handy & pleasant.
Thank you Donna.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank audtom62
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 October 2018 via mobile

After looking at the photos on their website we decided to book a standard studio unit which showed a complete kitchen which we wanted as we were staying 4 nights. On arrival we were shown to our room which only had a portable cook top and small fridge and microwave, not what the photos showed, we were told these were the standard studio units but not what we really wanted. The room was dated as was in the older part of the complex. Putting all the above aside the room was clean and comfortable, and in a great location.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Cookapie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeW5711, Owner at Northcote Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2018

Thank you for your review. Yes, we are aware that the Studios are a bit dated - something we would like to address in the future. Sorry that you were disappointed in the facilities, but we feel our units are priced accordingly to what is offered.
Kind regards
Donna & Gary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews