We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
willowdog9
Paeroa, New Zealand

Ok but a few minor things

Review of Athena Motel
3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 21 Apr 2017via mobile
Firstly, great friendly service. Tidy room with small patio, really nice sheets and good quality kitchenette.

I'd give it four stars but the shower head drooped (screw needs tightening) my room had no a/c though it was cold so the heater was enough. Also, the door lock was a bit dodgy.

Price was fair for the room and they're in a great location for food.

I would go back.
Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled solo
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$299
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $294
  • Hotels.com
    $272
  • Vio.com
    $299
2.7 km from Athena Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$299
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $299
  • Vio.com
    $253
  • Hotels.com
    $299
2.9 km from Athena Motel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$169
  • Doubletree
    $169
  • Expedia.com
    $169
  • Hotels.com
    $169
1.4 km from Athena Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$229
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $229
  • Vio.com
    $199
  • Hotels.com
    $208
2.7 km from Athena Motel
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
$225
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $221
  • Hotels.com
    $214
  • Priceline
    $225
4.8 km from Athena Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$194
  • CrownePlaza.com
    $194
  • Algotels
    $188
  • Expedia.com
    $194
3.4 km from Athena Motel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$158
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $158
  • StayForLong
    $151
  • Hotel Website
    $159
4.0 km from Athena Motel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$188
  • Expedia.com
    $155
  • Official Site
    $141
  • Hotels.com
    $145
3.4 km from Athena Motel
Free Wifi
Exterior view
$190
  • Novotel
    $190
  • Expedia.com
    $190
  • Priceline
    $190
3.4 km from Athena Motel
Restaurant
Room service
$266
  • Expedia.com
    $266
  • Hotels.com
    $266
  • Priceline
    $266
6.3 km from Athena Motel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Christchurch
Reviews (39)
Filter reviews
39 results
Traveller rating
19
13
6
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
19
13
6
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 39 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

My family stays here every time we come to Christchurch. The location is great, close to riccarton mall and close to the farmers market.

The bath is to die for! So nice! It just makes it so much better, and when the Christchurch weather isn't it's sunny self, it's nice to relax in a warm bath.

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank kmnen94
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 September 2016 via mobile

Really nice place to stay. Friendly staff, clean unit, heater on before we came, had an upstairs mezzanine which was definitely not your usual small mezzanine, close to mall and other facilities. Definitely recommend as a great place to stay in Chch.

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank JohnWilliams201
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

Nice touch is a personal touch. Manager walked us to room allowing us to ask questions and explain early exits etc., The Mall is right across the road. Very clean and manager warmed our room quickly. Wonderful super king bed. Very comfortable. Enjoyed our brief overnight stay.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank MaxxxH
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 July 2016 via mobile

Central location opposite Mall easy walk - Small self contained apartment suitable for families. Spa bath, small Kitchenette to cater for basic meal prep and 2 Tv's. Very good wifi. I asked for a better heater and they changed it immediately. Lots of restaurants near by. I must say the place is sparkling clean - the chrome gleams - lots of pride taken in that. good value I thought thankyou !

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Cas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 March 2016

This is a great wee motel complex which is one of the best I have ever stayed in. It is compact but has everything you need and more - spa bath, TV in the lounge as well as the bed room, very clean and tidy. Very well positioned across the road from Riccarton Mall.
The staff couldn't be more helpful, they even had a place for me to park my 18 foot boat and ute.

Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews