We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Kiri
Auckland Central, New Zealand

Great Motel

Review of Athena Motel
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 13 Mar 2017via mobile
My family stays here every time we come to Christchurch. The location is great, close to riccarton mall and close to the farmers market.

The bath is to die for! So nice! It just makes it so much better, and when the Christchurch weather isn't it's sunny self, it's nice to relax in a warm bath.
Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $276
  • Hotels.com
2.7 km from Athena Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
  • CrownePlaza.com
    $195
  • Hotels.com
3.4 km from Athena Motel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $232
  • Expedia.com
    $249
2.7 km from Athena Motel
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $145
  • Hotels.com
3.4 km from Athena Motel
Free Wifi
Exterior view
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $187
  • Priceline
3.4 km from Athena Motel
Restaurant
Room service
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $157
  • Algotels
4.0 km from Athena Motel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$250
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
4.8 km from Athena Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
  • Trip.com
    $114
  • Priceline
2.7 km from Athena Motel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $293
  • Priceline
6.3 km from Athena Motel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior
  • Expedia.com
  • Trip.com
    $118
  • Hotels.com
3.6 km from Athena Motel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Christchurch
Reviews (39)
Filter reviews
39 results
Traveller rating
19
13
6
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
19
13
6
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 39 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2016 via mobile

Really nice place to stay. Friendly staff, clean unit, heater on before we came, had an upstairs mezzanine which was definitely not your usual small mezzanine, close to mall and other facilities. Definitely recommend as a great place to stay in Chch.

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank JohnWilliams201
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

Nice touch is a personal touch. Manager walked us to room allowing us to ask questions and explain early exits etc., The Mall is right across the road. Very clean and manager warmed our room quickly. Wonderful super king bed. Very comfortable. Enjoyed our brief overnight stay.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank MaxxxH
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 July 2016 via mobile

Central location opposite Mall easy walk - Small self contained apartment suitable for families. Spa bath, small Kitchenette to cater for basic meal prep and 2 Tv's. Very good wifi. I asked for a better heater and they changed it immediately. Lots of restaurants near by. I must say the place is sparkling clean - the chrome gleams - lots of pride taken in that. good value I thought thankyou !

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Cas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 March 2016

This is a great wee motel complex which is one of the best I have ever stayed in. It is compact but has everything you need and more - spa bath, TV in the lounge as well as the bed room, very clean and tidy. Very well positioned across the road from Riccarton Mall.
The staff couldn't be more helpful, they even had a place for me to park my 18 foot boat and ute.

Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 November 2015 via mobile

We looked at the photos and were more than surprised to find the manager walking us off premise to what appeared to be a former small home

Thus we paid for the newer looking Athena motel you see in the photo yet they have at least 5 to 6 units around the corner in a place next door that has been converted into units. I find this very misleading. The unit was sufficient and mostly clean with exception of very dirty curtains that were not property hung

The bed was comfortable and we had a mini area with microwave hot water heater coffee tea set up toaster

I personally did not like the Ricarton street location which was busy and shabby and should have booked. Bed n breakfast for same price or less

We were close to the botanical gardens and museums

Ok for one night would not stay again
I do not like looking at a photo album showing a new accommodation only to be deceived by staying in a place around the bush sort of next door in a much older non matching converted home

Date of stay: November 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank myworldexperiences
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews