We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
myworldexperiences
Mesa, Arizona

Comfortable deceiving

Review of Athena Motel
2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 Nov 2015via mobile
We looked at the photos and were more than surprised to find the manager walking us off premise to what appeared to be a former small home

Thus we paid for the newer looking Athena motel you see in the photo yet they have at least 5 to 6 units around the corner in a place next door that has been converted into units. I find this very misleading. The unit was sufficient and mostly clean with exception of very dirty curtains that were not property hung

The bed was comfortable and we had a mini area with microwave hot water heater coffee tea set up toaster

I personally did not like the Ricarton street location which was busy and shabby and should have booked. Bed n breakfast for same price or less

We were close to the botanical gardens and museums

Ok for one night would not stay again
I do not like looking at a photo album showing a new accommodation only to be deceived by staying in a place around the bush sort of next door in a much older non matching converted home
Date of stay: November 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$299
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $297
  • Agoda.com
    $250
  • Priceline
    $299
2.7 km from Athena Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$295
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $293
  • Agoda.com
    $255
  • Hotels.com
    $295
2.9 km from Athena Motel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$161
  • Priceline
    $161
  • Expedia.com
    $160
  • Hotels.com
    $161
1.4 km from Athena Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$239
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $237
  • Vio.com
    $210
  • Hotels.com
    $235
2.7 km from Athena Motel
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
$224
  • CrownePlaza.com
    $224
  • Expedia.com
    $223
  • Hotels.com
    $224
3.4 km from Athena Motel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$235
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $233
  • Hotels.com
    $225
  • Priceline
    $235
4.8 km from Athena Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$188
  • Expedia.com
    $159
  • Official Site
    $141
  • Priceline
    $180
3.4 km from Athena Motel
Free Wifi
$179
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $179
  • StayForLong
    $168
  • Hotel Website
    $178
4.0 km from Athena Motel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$266
  • Expedia.com
    $266
  • Priceline
    $266
  • Hotels.com
    $266
6.3 km from Athena Motel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior
$118
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $118
  • Expedia.com
    $117
  • Hotels.com
    $118
3.6 km from Athena Motel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Christchurch
Reviews (39)
Filter reviews
39 results
Traveller rating
19
13
6
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
19
13
6
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 39 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2015 via mobile

Our last three night in NZ was spent at Athena Motel and once again offered us great value for money it get all the ticks for cleanliness & facilities a great kitchenette has been a bonus the wifi at the Athene was the best of all our stop no ongoing logging in, for such a busy street we enjoyed a quit sleep. A huge shopping complex is a easy walk with additional street shops & if you are considering a trans alpine train journey it's not far from the Christchurch railway station. Off street parking at your doorstep also included.

Date of stay: October 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Shane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 August 2015

We stayed in the McWilliams apartments which is next door to the main motel. It was a great size with a separate bedroom and bathroom and a well stocked kitchen which meant we could self cater. The rooms were clean and there was free wifi and the staff were very friendly and helpful, even offering us the use of an umbrella for the 2 days we stayed as the forecast was for rain. Right across the road from Riccarton Mall and heaps of restaurants within walking distance and an easy drive into the city. Even thought we were on a main road, the room was quiet and we got a great sleep.

Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachmc73
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 April 2015

Athena Motel and apartments situated on the Christchurch busy Riccarton road handy to all amenities and large mall. Comfortable apartment with en suite and kitchenette, Flat screen TV with Sky and Internet Wi-Fi with good speed. Easy parking. Recommended for a busyness or pleasure when visiting Christchurch. Good value for money.

Room tip: Any apartment made of rebuilt house will suit travellers . Not sure about rooms in Motel.
Date of stay: April 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alexander K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 April 2015

We stayed in the back upstairs room, number 7. This has a double King bed and a corner spa bath. Clean and tidy. This room is also furterest away from the busy Riccarton Rd. Room had a small balcony that is well screened from neighbours by trees.

Room tip: Average to quiet noise at rear room. Front rooms could be noisier.
Date of stay: April 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank LyleandChristin... P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 March 2015

My husband and I stayed on the ground floor in a studio room with our 12 month old son. It wasn’t very large but fine for our last night in New Zealand. Very clean and comfortable with a great little kitchenette and is fairly modern.
It was very close to the shopping centre (you could probably walk if you didn’t have too much to carry).
Overall, it’s nothing fancy but is a great location and clean.

Date of stay: March 2015
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Dazzy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews