We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice place, with a smile”

Sakimoto Japanese Bistro
Ranked #19 of 1,221 Restaurants in Christchurch
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 16 February 2024 via mobile

First, nice service , with a smile, even on a busy Friday evening

Then, the different meals were just fine, as expected, nice raw fish, perfect rice

A nice place to eat from,p

Date of visit: February 2024
Thank Kalisis6
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (425)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 425 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2024 via mobile

We had heard about the Sakimoto & were not disappointed. It offers authentic Japanese cuisine at reasonable prices and lots of choice. We dined there a couple of nights! The staff provide very good service considering how busy it is. Definitely book a table if you intend to go for dinner.

Date of visit: February 2024
Thank Collectandtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 February 2024 via mobile

Enjoyed a lovely outdoor dining experience, watching trams pass by. The staff was attentive, and the food was simply beautiful. Even my 8-year-old had no complaints and thoroughly enjoyed his meal.

Date of visit: February 2024
Thank MadhuPerera
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 February 2024

This place serves really good Japanese food at a reasonable price. It's also BYO ($13 a bottle) and with a bottle store next door it's a convenient option. They are fully-licensed also. Service was excellent and everything we selected was absolutely delicious.

Date of visit: January 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 January 2024

Authentic Japanese cuisine at this very popular and bustling restaurant in the centre of Christchurch. Food tasty and well presented. Reasonably priced. Suggest you share the dishes.

Date of visit: January 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Sakimoto Japanese Bistro also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Sakimoto Japanese Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.