We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Japanese food”

Sakimoto Japanese Bistro
Ranked #19 of 1,228 Restaurants in Christchurch
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 3 February 2024 via mobile

Enjoyed a lovely outdoor dining experience, watching trams pass by. The staff was attentive, and the food was simply beautiful. Even my 8-year-old had no complaints and thoroughly enjoyed his meal.

Date of visit: February 2024
Thank MadhuPerera
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (427)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6 - 10 of 427 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2024

This place serves really good Japanese food at a reasonable price. It's also BYO ($13 a bottle) and with a bottle store next door it's a convenient option. They are fully-licensed also. Service was excellent and everything we selected was absolutely delicious.

Date of visit: January 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 January 2024

Authentic Japanese cuisine at this very popular and bustling restaurant in the centre of Christchurch. Food tasty and well presented. Reasonably priced. Suggest you share the dishes.

Date of visit: January 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 January 2024 via mobile

This restaurant was packed when we arrived and filled up again at 8.45, just before closing. Obviously very popular.

We enjoyed everything about our experience at Sakimoto. Drinks were both non alcoholic Japanese cocktails and an Orion beer. Dishes we tried included softshell crab, salmon sashimi, poached veges, grilled eel bento box, double salmon rolls, and salmon caviar sushi. We finished with mochi ice cream.

Date of visit: January 2024
Thank natalieblandford
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 January 2024

My wife and I spotted this restaurant after journeying on the Christchurch tram, as it is right across from the Tram's office, and the starting point of the tram service. We had made a reservation earlier in the day, and were seated immediately upon our arrival for our 7pm reservation. The restaurant was packed. All the staff that we had contact with were exceptionally polite and attentive. Our dinner choices were taken quickly, and the food arrived in excellent time. We shared a plate of the tempura vegetables, and the pork dumplings. I had the tempura king prawns, while my wife had the chicken teriyaki with greens. ALL the food was very flavorful, and the chicken teriyaki was very tender and juicy. We topped off dinner with dessert, a creme brulee for my wife and Mochi Ice cream for myself. Everything went smoothly from start to finish with our meal.

Date of visit: January 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Safari608804
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Sakimoto Japanese Bistro also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Sakimoto Japanese Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.