We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Walkaboutchick
Nelson-Tasman Region, New Zealand

Good place

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 Sept 2022via mobile
Came across this at last minute after booking the wrong week for another motel.
Last one available on a Friday.
Can’t fault the cleanliness or helpful receptionist.

We had the disability room which was very spacious.
Small kitchenette but toaster etc way to high up for anyone in a wheel chair.

Could do with a few hooks to hang toilet bag or clothes in the bathroom but otherwise excellent.

Many thanks
Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$299
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $286
  • Agoda.com
    $252
  • Priceline
    $299
0.9 km from Salerno Motel Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
$233
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $233
  • Priceline
    $233
  • Hotels.com
    $233
0.6 km from Salerno Motel Apartments
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$152
  • Priceline
    $152
  • Expedia.com
    $152
  • Agoda.com
    $152
2.2 km from Salerno Motel Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
$249
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $249
  • Agoda.com
    $224
  • Vio.com
    $247
1.4 km from Salerno Motel Apartments
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
$199
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotel Website
    $160
  • StayForLong
    $151
  • Expedia.com
    $159
1.2 km from Salerno Motel Apartments
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$225
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $225
  • Hotels.com
    $216
  • Expedia.com
    $225
7.1 km from Salerno Motel Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior view
$190
  • Priceline
    $190
  • ZenHotels.com
    $180
  • Novotel
    $190
1.0 km from Salerno Motel Apartments
Restaurant
Room service
$307
  • Expedia.com
    $307
  • ZenHotels.com
    $236
  • Priceline
    $307
8.5 km from Salerno Motel Apartments
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$125
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $120
  • Agoda.com
    $108
  • Expedia.com
    $125
1.4 km from Salerno Motel Apartments
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Exterior
$118
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $118
  • Vio.com
    $109
  • Priceline
    $118
1.3 km from Salerno Motel Apartments
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Christchurch
Reviews (266)
Filter reviews
266 results
Traveller rating
161
71
26
7
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
161
71
26
7
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews good size would stay here again three nights palermo motel bedroom chch sink laundry toaster toiletries
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 266 reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2020 via mobile

So I stayed here with my husband for 2 nights. All was wonderful apart from being woken up at 3am by another couple staying. It was a warm night and we left the windows slightly open. To then be woken up by the strong smell of marijuana coming from the next room. I rang the desk to inform them and there was no answer. When I checked out the next morning I tried to inform the manager about it and they just shrugged it off. Other than that it was a nice clean place to stay.

Date of stay: May 2020
Thank Pixie193
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 October 2019

I stayed here with my daughter for a sporting trip. The 2 room unit was a generous size and had everything we needed. The property was very clean and well maintained. Walking distance to many good eateries and bars and close to the city center. Great price for the level of accommodation, and friendly, helpful staff. Would recommend!

Date of stay: July 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank MataoSR
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 February 2019

Loved this place - we arrived on the train, the coastal Pacific, and the sweet staff kept reception open for us, bed was super big and comfy and sheets were top quality, not awful polyester ...bathroom giant and had a spa. Good choice of coffee and tea and a spacious bar fridge for us to use, good location not too far from down town. Just a short bus ride or a ten or so minute walk, the highlight though was the honesty and efficiency of the staff, i left my Fitbit in the room, and with a simple phone call they posted it to my next destination where it arrived safely ...now that’s what I call superb customer service,

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Mia6559
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 February 2019

We were happy with our recent stay at the Salerno Motel Apartments. The location is good for walking to downtown, Cathedral Square, the Botanic Gardens, the parks and for driving out to other sights. Parking spaces are very small but there always was one available. We had a separate bedroom and sitting room with kitchenette that had dishes, microwave, tea making and fridge. The bathroom was huge with a jetted tub we didn’t use. No lift but the clerk helped us upstairs with our big bags. Laundry facilities available. Beds were comfy and WiFi worked fine. No breakfast but grocery and restaurants were nearby. It was a little more expensive than some others farther out, but being able to walk downtown made it worth it.

Room tip: Ask for ground floor if you have mobility issues. No lift.
Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ttm85
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 December 2018

After 30 days touring around NZ this was our second last night.
This is a very basic motel with no frills presentation.
Parking is at a premium - with customers from the business next door, parking in the Motel carpark up until 5.30pm.
The Motel is on a reasonably busy road, but is quiet inside and sleep is not disturbed.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews